Central States Communication Association Communication Theory Interest Group Bylaws

Article I. Name

1. The name of the interest group/caucus/section shall be called Communication Theory Interest Group.

Article II. Purpose

2. The purpose of the Communication Theory Interest Group [CTIG] is to serve as an outlet for the discussion and promotion of communication theory research, scholarship, and creativity.

Article III. Membership

Membership in the Communication Theory Interest Group shall be open to all those who are members in good standing in the Central States Communication Association and who are interested in advancing the purpose of the interest group.

Article IV. Officers

1. The officers of the Communication Theory Interest Group shall be a Chair, Vice-Chair, Secretary, and an appropriate number of Reviewers as determined by the Chair.

2. Only individuals who are members of the Central States Communication Association and the Communication Theory Interest Group (as designated at the time of convention registration and membership renewal) are eligible for office.

3. Succession shall be automatic from Secretary to Vice-Chair to Chair during the business meeting held at the annual convention. The term for these offices shall be one year.

4. Reviewers will be appointed anew each year at the discretion of the Chair.

5. The Secretary shall be elected at the annual business meeting and shall assume this position at the business meeting subsequent to which they were elected.

6. The Chair shall serve as the presiding officer of all Communication Theory Interest Group business meetings. The Chair shall also serve as program planner for the annual convention. The Chair shall also be responsible for carrying out any activities requested by the Association in support of the Communication Theory Interest Group.

7. The Vice-Chair shall assist the Chair in planning the Interest Group's program offerings for the annual convention or any other activities as requested by the Chair or the Association. The

Vice-Chair shall perform the duties of the Chair in the event of that officer's absence or incapacity.

8. The Secretary shall be responsible for maintaining a written record of the business meetings of the interest group held at the annual meeting in the year following this officer's election. It shall also be the responsibility of the secretary to maintain a record of attendance. The Secretary shall be responsible for transmitting these records to the Chair within a reasonable period following the business meeting of the interest group. The Secretary shall also be responsible for providing the membership with copies of minutes for approval at the subsequent business meeting.

9. Reviewers shall be responsible for making judgments about submitted papers and panels and any other activities requested by the Chair.

Article V. Executive Committee

1. The Executive Committee of the Communication Theory Interest Group shall be composed of the Chair, Vice-Chair, and Secretary.

Article VI. Meetings

1. An annual meeting will be held at the time and place designated by the Vice-President of CSCA at the annual convention. Additional business meetings may be scheduled if necessary by the interest group officers.

2. The number of members of the Communication Theory Interest Group present at each meeting shall constitute a quorum.

3. The rules contained in the current edition of *Robert's Rules of Order, Newly Revised* shall govern the Communication Theory Interest Group in all cases to which they are applicable and in which they are not inconsistent with the Bylaws and any special rules of order the interest group may adopt.

Article VII. Voting

1. All voting shall be decided by a simple majority, with the exception of changes to the bylaws.

2. The election of officers shall be conducted by written ballot. Ballots shall be tabulated by at least two members of the Communication Theory Interest Group.

3. All voting matters other than the election of officers shall be conducted by voice support of for/yes, against/no, or abstain. The voting majority shall be determined by the Chair. Should any member present deem the voting majority to be unclear by voice support, a second vote shall be conducted using handraising designation.

Article VIII. Awards

1. The top competitive paper of the Communication Theory Interest Group shall be designated the Em Griffin Award. The top competitive paper of the Communication Theory Interest Group shall be determined by the Chair, based on Reviewer evaluations. Recipients will receive \$50.00 and a certificate.

2. The top competitive panel of the Communication Theory Interest Group shall be determined by the Chair, based on Reviewer evaluations. Recipients will receive \$50.00 and a certificate.

3. All awards will be presented at the annual business meeting.

Article IX. Finances

1. The Executive Committee of CSCA allocates funds to each interest group each year. These funds shall be used in support of the interest group/caucus/section awards.

2. In the event that these allocated funds are less than \$100.00, the funds received shall be divided equally amongst the interest group/caucus/section awards.

3. In the event that these allocated funds exceed \$100.00, any remaining money following the funding of the interest group/caucus/section awards can be spent in support of the interest group/caucus/section at the discretion of the Chair.

Article X. Amendment of Bylaws

1. Following their establishment, any amendments to the Communication Theory Interest Group bylaws can be proposed by any member of the Executive Committee or by a petition of five members of the interest group.

2. Communication Theory Interest Group membership must be notified of any proposed amendments at least thirty days prior to the annual meeting. This notification is the responsibility of the Chair. So that the chair is provided with reasonable opportunity to notify membership, amendment petitions must be submitted to the Chair at least forty days prior to the annual meeting.

3. Amendments require the approval of two-thirds of the membership present at the annual meeting.