Cooper Award

The prestigious Cooper Award is named after former CSCA President Pamela J. Cooper and is presented to one M.A. level graduate teaching assistant and one Ph.D. level graduate teaching assistant. At the annual convention, the recipients receive a $50 cash award and a certificate.

To be considered for the Cooper Award, nominees must submit materials electronically (not to exceed 12 pages, excluding cover page, index page, and/or divider pages) which must be the original work of the graduate teaching assistant. The electronic packet must include (1) no more than two letters of nomination/support; (2) a one to two-page statement of the nominee's teaching philosophy; (3) a description of the nominee's teaching experiences including courses taught and course responsibilities; (4) evidence of the nominee's teaching effectiveness, including summaries of teaching evaluations and/or peer/ supervisor evaluations; and (5) teaching materials including syllabi, assignment sheets, handouts, and web pages.

Only two candidates can be nominated by one department. Students who were graduate teaching assistants during the past academic year as well as current M.A. and Ph.D. students are eligible. Graduate teaching assistants at colleges and universities in the CSCA region are eligible. In addition, graduate teaching assistants advised by faculty outside of the CSCA region are also eligible, but they, their nominating faculty, or department should be CSCA members. Cooper Award recipients are expected to become members of CSCA and attend the conference to receive the award. The recipients of the Cooper Award are recognized at the Hall of Fame Awards Luncheon and Business Meeting.

This year’s committee includes the following respected teachers and scholars:

  • Stephanie L. Young (Chair), University of Southern Indiana
  • Stacy Tye-Williams (Vice-Chair), Iowa State University
  • Jessica Kratzer, Middle Tennessee State University
  • Ryan Neville-Shepard, Indiana University - Purdue University Columbus
  • Steve Phalen, University of Wisconsin-River Falls

All materials must be submitted by Monday, February 1, 2016. When the materials are received, you will receive a confirmation email indicating that your submission is under review. Please submit all application materials in a single PDF to:

Stephanie L. Young
Cooper Award Committee Chair
Department of Communications
University of Southern Indiana

Past recipients include the following: