ECA Instructional Communication Interest Group Business Meeting

Minutes from Friday, April 2007

Providence, RI

I. Call to Order

Chair Elizabeth Bernat called the meeting to order at 8:00 am.

II. Approval of 2006 Business meeting minutes

- A. Ann Bainbridge Frymier moved to approve the 2006 ICIG business meeting minutes
- B. Richard West seconded the motion
- C. The motion was passed with all in favor

III. Acknowledgements

- A. Given the absence of any new members, Bernat thanked the veteran members present at the meeting
- B. She announced that the Top Paper Award went to Timothy Mottet, Jessica Parker-Raley, Steven Beebe, and Cory Cunningham. They would receive a certificate soon. Congratulations were given to the great team.
- C. She thanked Jason Wrench, Qin Zhang, Marian Houser, and Linda Sampson for reading the manuscripts submitted to the ICIG
- D. She thanked the members who served as chairs and respondents. She also thanked those who submitted papers to the ICIG

IV. Old Business

- A. Acceptance Figures
 - a. Bernat reported that 9 papers were submitted and 7 were accepted. The submission was down this year
 - b. 6 panels were submitted and 4 were accepted
 - c. Some papers or panels were rejected because they were also submitted to other interest groups
 - d. ICIG co-sponsored 2 panels with the Voice of Diversity

B. Report from Executive Council Meeting

- a. Danette Ifert Johnson reported that a new editor of *Qualitative Research Reports* in Communication was selected
- b. She reported that Baltimore was selected as the site for 2010 ECA annual meeting
- c. She also reported that a new award for *Urban Communication* was approved
- d. Sara Weintraub welcomed all members to attend the meeting at Pittsburgh next year
- V. Welcome New Chair: Danette Ifert Johnson, Ithaca College
 - A. Bernat welcomed Johnson as the new chair of ICIG
 - B. Johnson thanked Bernat for her work as chair

VI. New Business

A. Preview of 2008 Convention

- a. Johnson announced the date, theme, and location of the 2008 ECA convention
- b. Sara Weintraub will be the planner for the convention
- c. Scott Myers will be the coordinator of spotlight on scholarship series
- d. There was a brief discussion regarding the policy of technology. Johnson urged those who need to use technology to inform her in advance

B. Election of New ICIG Officers

- a. Vice Chair
 - 1. Candice Thomas-Maddox nominated Leeanne Bell for the position
 - 2. Timothy Mottet seconded the nomination
 - 3. Richard West moved to close the nominations for the position
 - 4. The nomination was approved with all in favor
- b. Secretary

Qin Zhang will hold the position for another year

C. Other Nominations

- a. ECA First Vice Present Elect-Select
 Timothy Mottet, Mary Toale, Kelly Rocca, were suggested as possible nominees for the position.
- b. Elizabeth Bernat will be the representative for the Nominating Committee

D. Announcements and Other New Business

- a. Ann Bainbridge Frymier encouraged members to vote for the 2007 NCA election
- b. Richard West reported that 208 students pre-registered for the conference, which was about one third of the 628 members pre-registered for the conference
- c. Richard West reported that about 225 people attended the reception last night.
- d. Sara Weintraub thanked West for the wonderful job he did planning the program this year
- e. Timothy Mottet raised the concern of submitting papers to multiple panels
- f. Given that the number of submissions dropped this year, Ann Bainbridge Frymier suggested that email calls be sent out to everybody in July to promote the conference
- g. Since the ECA meets during the final week, Marian Houser raised the question of moving the conference later to May.

VII. Adjournment

- A. Richard West moved to adjourn at 8:45am
- B. Timothy Mottet seconded the motion
- C. The motion was passed with all in favor

Members present: Jerry Allen, Leeanne Bell, Elizabeth Bernat, Ann Bainbridge Frymier, Sean Horan, Marian Houser, Danette Ifert Johnson, James McCroskey, Timothy Mottet, Scott Myers, Candice Thomas-Maddox, Sara Weintraub, Richard West, Qin Zhang