Convention

Call for Papers

107th Annual ECA Convention

2016 CALL FOR PAPERS
[R]evolution
Baltimore, Maryland
March 30 - April 3, 2016

Submission deadline: October 15, 2015

Although Baltimore, MD, is not known for events during the Revolutionary War, the city was critical to the success of the 13 Colonies’ freedom. After Philadelphia was taken by the British, Baltimore became the temporary capital of the 13 Colonies from December 1776 to February 1777. During this time period, the Second Continental Congress (or the John Hancock Congress) unanimously voted to print authentic copies of the Declaration of Independence with all of the original signers names attached to the document. Mary Katherine Goddard, a Baltimore Postmaster, printer, and publisher, typeset and created the first printed versions of the document, which were then sent to each of the 13 Colonies so everyone could see who had. Of course, Baltimore is more famous for a different battle during the War of 1812. Prior to the Battle of Baltimore, Maj. George Armistead asked for a flag so big that the British would have no trouble seeing it fly above Ft. McHenry. While attempting to negotiate the release of a local physician, Frances Scott Key was held captive off the coast during the Battle of Fort McHenry. When he woke the next morning, he could see that “the flag was still there.” At this sight, he was uniquely inspired to write the beginnings of what would become the U.S. National Anthem. Although the Revolutionary war helped spur on the creation of the United States of America, the War of 1812 was equally important in how the U.S. evolved in its sense of national pride and unity.

Following in the spirit of these [r]evolutionary events, I invite our collaborative consideration about [R]evolution in the communication discipline. Are the field, our scholarship, and our teaching best served by a series of slow, incremental changes, or is it time to promote radical, pervasive overthrow of the status quo?

Short Course Submission Template

Panel Submission Template

See the below list of Interest Group and Affiliate Organization Planners, Special Session Directors, and Associate Organization contacts for the 2016 Convention. Please include the update Statement of Professional Responsibility on all submissions:

In submitting the attached paper or proposal, I/We recognize that this submission is considered a professional responsibility. If this submission is accepted and programmed, I/We agree to register for the 2015 ECA Convention, pay fees, and present in Philadelphia. I/We understand that presenters with last minute emergencies must make arrangements as possible for an alternate presenter as well as communicate their absences to both the Interest Group Planner and ECA VP; no shows will be removed from the official program.

To have time to confirm programming into the 2016 convention, notification of acceptance will not be given until the review process and initial session programming is drafted. (We do not wish to rank acceptances by sending out select notifications and having others wait.) Please expect to hear back about proposal acceptances no sooner than the traditional time of:

NOTE: A single paper or panel should only be submitted to a single interest group or affiliate organization for consideration.

Convention Acceptance Notifications: Friday, January 15, 2016


ECA 2016 CONVENTION PLANNERS
CONTACT INFORMATION
Thank you to the individuals listed here for their service to ECA and to our discipline.

 

First Vice President & Primary Convention Planner

Jason S. Wrench
SUNY New Paltz
email@eca2016.com
(845) 257-3499


Second Vice President (Local Arrangements)        

Leeanne M. Bell McManus
Stevenson University
leeannebell@hotmail.com


Second Vice President

Katherine Thweatt
SUNY New Paltz
thweattk@newpalz.edu
Director of Sponsorship
Nicole Blau
Ohio University
dobransk@ohio.edu
Graduate Student Poster Session Chair
Dante E. Morelli
Suffolk County Community College
morelld@sunysuffolk.edu
Short Course Director
Susan M. Ward
Delaware County Community College
sward@dccc.edu
Technology Coordinator
Kristin Roeschenthale Wolfe
Edinboro University
kristin_wolfe@verizon.net
James C. McCroskey & Virginia P. Richmond Undergraduate Scholars Conference
Kristen Campbell Eichhorn
SUNY Oswego
Kristen.Eichhorn@oswego.edu

Volunteer Coordinator
Chip Rouse
Stevenson University
chiprouse@stevenson.edu

 

Local Outreach Coordinator
Rod Carveth
Morgan University
rod.carveth@morgan.edu

 

 


ECA 2016 Interest Group Planners

American Society for the History of Rhetoric (ASHR) (Affiliate Organization)
Michelle Gibbons
State University of New York at Delhi
gibbonmm@delhi.edu

Applied Communication
Stacy Smulowitz
University of Scranton
Smulowitz8@scranton.edu

Argumentation and Forensics
Thomas McCloskey
University of Maryland
tmcclosk@gmail.com

Communication Administration
Sally Vogl-Bauer
Blackhawk Technical College
svoglbauer@blackhawk.edu

Communication Law & Ethics
Jason Zenor
SUNY Oswego
jason.zenor@oswego.edu

Communication and Technology
Gamze Yilmaz
University of Massachusetts Boston
gamze.yilmaz@umb.edu

Communication Traits
Rachel DiCioccio
University of Rhode Island
dicioccio@uri.edu

Community College
Jenny Warren
Collin College
jwarren@collin.edu

GIFTS (Great Ideas for Teaching)
TBA

Health Communication
Sara LaBelle
Chapman University
labelle@chapman.edu

Institute of General Semantics (Affiliate Organization)
Thom Gencarelli
Manhattan College
thom.gencarelli@manhattan.edu

Instructional Communication
Jennifer Waldeck
Chapman University
waldeck@chapman.edu

Intercultural Communication
Ali E. Erol
American University
erol@american.edu

Interpersonal Communication
Mary C. Toale
SUNY Oswego
dr.mary.toale@gmail.com

Interpretation and Performance Studies
Lisa Weckerle
Kutztown University
weckerle@kutztown.edu

Kenneth Burke
Jean Miller
George Washington University
jcmiller@gwu.edu

Media Communication
Rod Carveth
Morgan State University
rod.carveth@morgan.edu

Media Ecology (Affiliate Organization) 
James C. Morrison
Boston College
james.morrison@bc.edu

Nonverbal Communication
Zac Goldman
West Virginia University
zgoldman@mix.wvu.edu

Organizational Communication
Michael Sollitto
Texas A&M Corpus Christi
michael.sollitto@tamucc.edu

Philosophy of Communication
Joel S. Ward
Geneva College
j-s-ward@bethel.edu

Political Communication
Theodore F. Sheckels
Randolph–Macon College
tsheckel@rmc.edu

Rhetoric and Public Address
Michael Warren Tumolo
California State University at Stanislaus
mwtumolo@gmail.com

Theory and Methodology
TBA

Voices of Diversity
Daniel S. Strasser
Rowan University
strasser@rowan.edu