Who provides Home Care?

Medicare Certified Home Health Agencies: Medicare Certified Home Health Agencies must meet federal and state standards.  A doctor’s orders are required for care.  Medicare-certified agencies deliver "skilled" nursing care and therapeutic services such as occupational therapy, physical therapy, and speech therapy.  Medicare-certified agencies deliver "brief and intermittent care" meaning that they work off of a doctor's order that only runs for an episode of 60 days.  Episodes can be renewed by doctors when necessary. 

Professionals providing home care include:

  • Licensed practical nurses (LPN)
  • Registered nurses (RN)
  • Home health aides
  • Physical therapists (PT)
  • Occupational therapists (OT)
  • Social workers

Rehabilitation services may be provided by physical therapists, occupational therapists, speech and language pathologists and dietitians.

Home care aides, Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA's),State Tested Nursing Assistant (STNA’s) and caregivers are trained to provide non-custodial or non-medical care, such as helping with dressing, bathing, getting in and out of bed, and using the toilet. They may also prepare meals, accompany to medical visits, grocery shop, and a number of other errands.