Ohio ACOFP Awards


Ohio ACOFP awards are designed to recognize Ohio DOs who exhibit the exemplary characteristics of an osteopathic family physician.  These include compassion, leadership, and demonstrated commitment to osteopathic philosophy, patient care, community involvement, education and enrichment of self and others. The nominees cannot be a current member of the Ohio ACOFP Board or an officer.  

For a nomination form and criteria, click here.  For a list of previous award winners, click here:  ACOFP Award Recipients.  Categories include:

Family Physician of the Year Award  

Saridakis Award

  2014 Recipient:  Manuel P. Saridakis, DO
Sagamore Hills

  Must be in active practice

  Must have been in practice 10 years or more

  Must be a member of ACOFP, Ohio ACOFP, AOA, OOA, district


Young Family Physician of the Year Award

Qepf3kdnr4odnvokg87kam3lx Ftvmol2jflaidbe24

  2015 Recipient: Alex Tsai, DO

  In practice in Ohio less than 5 years;

  Must be a member of ACOFP, Ohio ACOFP, OOA and District             



Family Medicine Resident of the Year Award

                  2015 Recipient: 
Charles R. Fisher, DO
Doctors Hospital Columbus

Must be a FP resident in an AOA approved Ohio program

Must have letter of endorsement by FP program director, plus CV


Distinguished Service Award

Sis Ygkufhp52gm74fnhp8zp6vrq3ytfhkzj5de3yh02015 Recipient:
Anthony G. Chila, DO, FAAO Dist, FCA

Given to an individual who has made lifelong contributions to the osteopathic profession as a family physician. Selected by the Ohio ACOFP Board from time to time as deemed appropriate.
 Recipient may be retired from active practice.


Resident Paper Awards  

Ohio ACOFP sponsors a poster competition each year during the Ohio Osteopathic Symposium. The contest is open to all DO Family Medicine residents in an Ohio AOA or ACGME Family Medicine residency program.  The winner receives a $750 cash prize. Call For Abstracts Flyer 2016


OU-HCOM Student Awards

  • Sponsored by Ohio ACOFP and presented annually by the Ohio University Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine.
  • Recipients are selected by the OU-COM Family Practice Department. Winners receive a family practice textbook and a $75 cash award. 


Ohio ACOFP/Katherine H. Clark Fellowship

  • This fellowship supports OU-HCOM Family Medicine Fellows (also known as Primary Care Fellows), who choose to pursue an osteopathic family medicine residency program within the Ohio University Centers of Osteopathic Research and Education (CORE).
  • The endowment periodically provides a $1,000 grant to be used at the discretion of the recipient. Students should contact the Office of Student Affairs for more information.