History of AASCB

The American Association of State Counseling Boards was created in 1986 by an AACD (now ACA) committee headed by Willie Jackson, then the AACD Licensure Chairperson, at the Annual Convention in Los Angeles. The Committee was convened to "establish an organization to encourage communication of state licensing boards". Ted Remley (VA), Susan Sears (OH), and Kitty Altman (SC) were named members of the Committee along with Larry Gerstein. They were charged with developing plans for the implementation of an association of Licensure boards.

Representatives from several states with credentialing laws met and formed AASCB in October, 1986 at the Midwest Regional Conference in Kansas City. Among the states with licensing laws in attendance were: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Maryland, Nebraska, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina. A set of bylaws was adopted, and officers were elected (see the list of presidents and executive directors). The first annual AASCB Conference was held March 20-22, 1987, in Charleston, South Carolina. The conference was well attended and included representative from states without credentialing laws who came to network and gather information; an annual conference has been held every year since then.

AASCB remains dedicated to a continuing and open relationship with organizations and entities representing counselors who are regulated by its member boards, as well as associations representing the counseling profession.