Intercultural Communication Interest Group 2024 Business Meeting Minutes Central States Communication Association Saturday, April 6, 2024

From 12:30 to 1:45 pm (location – Grand View A)

Officers

Chair: Andrew Donofrio, St. Lawrence University (NY) Vice Chair: Ahmet Aksoy, Columbia College (SC)

Secretary: Kim Omachinski, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Number of attendees: 27

I. Call to Order

- a. Andrew Donofrio made a call to order at 12:33 PM
- b. Andrew Donofrio introduced Ahmet Aksoy (vice chair) and Kim Omachinski (secretary).

II. Approval of 2023 minutes

- a. The minutes were sent out to members on Wednesday, April 3 to members of the Intercultural Communication Interest Group.
- b. Linsay Cramer made a motion to accept the minutes.
- c. Diana Trebing seconded the motion.
- d. The minutes were approved.

III. Report on 2024 submissions

- a. 8 slots were provided to the Intercultural Communication Interest Group
- b. 1 business meeting
- c. 4 discussion sessions
- d. 1 special session for a works-in-progress workshop
- e. 3 paper sessions
- f. Submissions included:
 - i. 13 papers (4 faculty and 8 student papers) were submitted
 - ii. 5 of the 8 student papers were debut papers, and one paper was rejected
 - iii. 4 discussion panels including the works-in-progress feedback parlor
 - iv. There were 18 reviewers, 6 chairs, and 3 respondents

IV. Top Paper Awards

- a. *Top Paper*: Laura D. Russell, Faculty, Denison University and Tra Vo, Graduate Student, Denison University titled "Cross-cultural mirrors of the self: How international college students perceive and respond to their looking glass-self"
- b. *Top Student Paper*: Ebuka Okoli, Graduate Student, Illinois State University titled "Complexities of Cross-Cultural Ethics in Multinational Organizations"
- c. *Top Panel:* Hsin-I Sydney Yueh, Faculty, University of Missouri; Ahmet Atay, Faculty, College of Wooster; Emi Kanemoto, Faculty, Southern Illinois University Carbondale; and Elizabeth M. Lozano, Faculty, Loyola University Chicago titled "What We Learned from Our Failure in Teaching Intercultural Communication: Suggestions for International Scholars of Color"
- d. *Top Inclusive Paper*: Anjana Mudambi, Faculty, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee; Seokhoon Ahn, Faculty, Central Washington University; and Mike Allen, Faculty, UW-Milwaukee titled "Simultaneity of Acculturation Patterns Across and Within Contexts: Undocumented Immigrant Bloggers' Acculturation, Acculturative Stress, and Attitudes toward the US"

V. New Business

- a. Revisiting Top Panel award and revisions of bylaws
 - i. Article VI, section 1
 - 1. Last year Seokhoon Ahn brought up a discussion of changing the bylaws for Article VI.
 - 2. John Baldwin had suggested making a bylaw committee which had been formed.
 - 3. Today Andrew Donofrio brought up the changes from this committee including rolling approval for the top panel (in Article VI).
 - 4. Several years ago, when Heather Neisemeier was Chair, they formed a nominations committee with three people to determine who the recipient of the Top Panel would be.
 - 5. Today it is more difficult to find people by the deadline, especially with changes made after the pandemic.
 - 6. A motion to continue the discussion next year was made by Andrew Donofrio.
 - 7. Second made by Dorothy Pennington.
 - ii. Article VIII, section 1
 - 1. Motion by Andrew Donofrio to discuss revising Article VIII, section 1: "Once a quorum is established at the annual meeting, the chair will be designated to open the floor for nominations, including self-nominations, for eligible executive officer positions"
 - 2. A larger discussion on what the definition of "quorum" means was held.
 - 3. Members suggested next year the group revisit specific definition of a "quorum" should be added to the agenda about modifying the bylaws.
 - 4. A motion was made by Jennifer Willis-Rivera to state: "At the annual meeting, the chair will open the floor for nominations, including self-nominations, for eligible executive officer positions."
 - 5. Second made by Carolyn Calloway-Thomas.
 - 6. Members voted unanimously in favor of the motion to change the by-laws.
- b. Nominations/elections of new officers
 - i. Andrew Donofrio opened the floor for nominations for Vice-chair. He reminded everyone that the secretary has a two-year position, and Kim Omachinski will continue for one more year next year.
 - 1. Scott Mitchell nominated Jennifer Willis-Rivera for Vice-chair.
 - 2. Jennifer Willis-Rivera accepted the nomination.
 - 3. No other nominations were made.
 - 4. Jennifer Willis-Rivera was unanimously elected the next Vice-chair.
- c. Discussion on 2025 convention
 - i. Discussion on the 2025 Theme: "Widening the scope"
 - ii. Solicitation of CSCA 2025 potential panels
 - 1. Looking to connect with other divisions
 - 2. "GIFTS" panel when people teach an intercultural chapter in basic course
 - 3. Failures and mistakes we have made in teaching intercultural communication
 - 4. Anti-DEI how does this impact our teaching environment?
 - 5. Bring in international scholars virtually who can't come in person
 - 6. Looking at schools within a 120-mile radius of conference to be intentional and target potential presenters (something Andrew Donofrio and Ahmet Aksoy did this year)
 - 7. Panel on senior scholars no longer involved at CSCA
 - 8. Co-sponsor an event at the Underground Railroad Museum
 - 9. Develop an essay contest for local elementary or high schools (in Cincinnati) and invite them to the conference to present

- 10. Special panel: works in progress parlor (used this year since we had an extra slot, and we wanted to encourage those with works in progress to engage with other scholars to build a sense of community and support)
- 11. A Non paper or discussion panel but rather a performance, pictures or posters
- iii. Sign-up for reviewers for the 2025 convention
 - 1. Andrew Donofrio created a QR code to sign up to be a reviewer

II. Announcement of new officers

a. Chair: Ahmet Aksoy

b. Vice-chair: Jennifer Willis-Rivera

c. Secretary: Kim Omachinski

III. Announcements & Closing

- a. Andrew Donofrio expressed his gratitude to Ahmet Aksoy. Kim Omachinski, and all members.
- b. Meeting adjourned at 1:36 PM.