Complete Story


CSCA - Performance Studies and Theatre IG - 2013 Call for Papers Reminder

2013 Call


Call for Submissions 

Central States Communication Association 2013 Conference Theme

Communicating the Possible

April 2 – April 7, 2013 Kansas City Marriott Downtown

 The Performance Studies and Theatre Interest Group invites all members of CSCA to submit competitive papers, programs, interactive panels, and performances for programming consideration at the 2013 CSCA conference to be held in Kansas City. We welcome a variety of formats, including performances, roundtable discussions, and spotlight sessions.  We will give special consideration to papers and panels focusing explicitly on the convention theme. 

Guidelines for Submission

Submit your papers, performance, installations, and panels exploring the variety of exciting scholarly and artistic work our members are developing.  We remain interested in panels that explore relationships to other areas of communication such as rhetoric, intercultural studies, women's studies, the scholarship of teaching and learning, etc.

Please note the following directions for paper and panel proposals: 

CSCA Outstanding Scholar in Performance Studies and Theatre Award

We are currently seeking nominations for the tenth Central States Communication Outstanding Scholar in Performance Studies and Theatre Award.* This award is given to a scholar who has made significant contributions to performance studies and theater scholarship, and has been a significant contributor to/from the Central States region. The award recipient will receive recognition, and her/his work will be featured at a conference session. Please send a letter of nomination that includes a brief history of this individual's work, a justification for awarding this individual, and a description of the contributions made by this individual to the association. Also please include a copy of the nominee's C.V. Self-nominations are also encouraged. Letters must be received by Friday, September 7, 2012. (Please note the earlier deadline)

*Previous Award winners

2003: Ronald Pelias, Southern Illinois University

2004: Ronald Shields, Bowling Green University

2005: Craig Gingrich-Philbrook, Southern Illinois University

2006: Sheron J. Dailey, Indiana State University

2007: Elyse Pineau, Southern Illinois University

2008: Linda Park-Fuller, Arizona State University

2009: Nathan Stucky, Southern Illinois University

2010: Tami Spry, St. Cloud State University 

2011: Jim Ferris, University of Toledo

2012:  Jonathan Gray, Southern Illinois University

If you are submitting a panel proposal, you must use the 2013 CSCA Panel Proposal Request Form (available at Submit all panel proposals, debut and contributed papers, contributed performances, performance panels, and award nominations as attachments in WORD to :

Jennifer Tuder
Office Phone:  (320) 308-3125
Department of Communication Studies
Riverview 117
Saint Cloud State University
Saint Cloud, Minnesota 56301