

2024 Fall Conference & Annual Meeting Business Meeting Agenda Tuesday, November 12, 2024

Call to Order – Alex Zumbar, President

Prayer & Pledge – Alex Zumbar, Stark County Treasurer

Introduction of New Treasurers/Retiring Treasurers

Roll Call of Counties – Vickie Myers, Secretary

Approval of Minutes – Fall 2023 (Attached)

Financial Report – Dan Yemma, Treasurer

Executive Director's Report & Legislative Update – Kevin Futryk, CTAO Executive Director & Erin Glossop, State Lobbyist

Committee Reports – Conference Planning Committee – Vickie Myers, Chairperson

Financial Oversight Committee – Andy Smarra, Chairperson

Nominating Committee – Alex Zumbar, Chairperson

Announcement of Officer Candidates (Note: Election of Officers & Swearing In will take place during the President's Banquet)

Other Business

Adjourn

COUNTY TREASURER'S ASSOCIATION OF OHIO

Minutes of Association Business Meeting Meeting Date: November 14, 2023

Time & Location: 10:00 AM, 2023 Fall Conference - Columbus Marriott Northwest, Dublin, Ohio

<u>Call to Order</u>: 10:00 AM by President Scott Zumbrink who led the group in the Pledge of Allegiance followed by an opening prayer.

<u>Roll Call of Counties</u>: CTAO Secretary Dan Yemma conducted verbal roll call of individual counties which is attached. There are 78 counties in attendance with 10 counties absent as follows : Brown, Butler, Clinton, Coshocton, Hardin, Jefferson, Miami, Pickaway, Ross, Seneca.

Approval of the Minutes - Fall 2022:

President Zumbrink called for Motion to approve the minutes from the business meeting held on November 16, 2022. Motion by Treasurer Lamancusa; Second by Treasurer Welton. All in favor, Motion passes unanimously.

Financial Report:

Financial report was provided by CTAO Treasurer Kathy Kelich. She noted a Quickbooks discrepancy regarding a PayPal transfer has been resolved. President Zumbrink asked for a motion to accept the Association's Financial Report as presented. Motion by Treasurer Wright; Second by Treasurer Caldwell. All in favor, Motion passes unanimously.

Executive Director's Report & Legislative Update:

Kevin thanked everyone for their continued support of the association. He noted we have exceeded last year's attendance which was a record. Kevin thanked the Conference planning committee for all of their hard work. There is a lot of work done behind the scenes to make the conferences what they are and this committee along with Julia, Sheila and himself work to make it happen. He advised attendees to complete AOS forms for CE credits and encouraged completion of the post-conference survey. He spoke briefly on the General Assembly's passage of the state operating budget, and that discussions on that bill, along with the legislative redistricting maps this year took precedence over most everything else. State of Ohio is in a favorable cash position and an excess of revenues over expenditures is expected to continue moving forward.

Kevin announced that Julia Wynn, our State Lobbyist, is leaving for another employment opportunity and thanked her for the outstanding service she has provided CTAO.

Legislative Committee Co-chairs Treasurers Talarek and Zumbar proceeded with the legislative update and turned the meeting over to Kevin and Julia. They highlighted the following bills of interest to the CTAO and provided updates: HBs 93, 134, 153, 187, 215. There was much discussion on HB 187 as this is a priority of CTAO. With regard to Senate Bills, updates were provided for SB's 25, 91.

Kevin and Julia also reported on issues being discussed for which bills will soon be introduced: a Delinquent Tax bill that the CTAO is proactively introducing through Sen. Blessing designed to mandate land purchasers attest via affidavit they have no delinquency in order to purchase property at sheriff sale, and an issue being raised by Supreme Court of Ohio with regard to payment of visiting judges.

Committee Reports

Conference Planning Committee

Committee Chair Treasurer Vickie Myers welcomed everyone. She introduced the members of the committee and thanked them for their hard work. She asked for cooperation in completing conference survey. Kevin Futryk expanded on Chairperson Myers' comments. CTAO President Zumbrink thanked the Executive Committee as well as Kevin, Julia and Sheila for their work in putting this conference together.

Financial Oversight Committee

Committee Chair Treasurer Smarra introduced the members of the Financial Oversight Committee. He advised the association of the purpose and responsibilities of the committee regarding the CTAO accounts. He provided a report noting all accounts are in balance. Motion to accept the report by Treasurer Wasserman; Second by Treasurer Lamancusa. All in favor, Motion passes unanimously.

Nominating Committee

President Zumbrink thanked the Executive Committee for all of their hard work and introduced the proposed 2024 slate of officers: President: Denise Althauser, 1st Vice President: Brad Cromes, 2nd Vice President: Kathy Kelich, Treasurer: Dan Yemma, Secretary: Vickie Myers, and Past President Scott Zumbrink. No motions for nominations were made from the floor. Motion to close the nominations and approve the slate of officers for 2024 as announced made by Treasurer Hitchcock; Second by Treasurer Wolters. All in favor, Motion passes unanimously. President Zumbrink congratulated the newly elected officers and reminded the Association the official swearing-in will take place during the President's banquet Wednesday evening.

Other Business

There was no other business.

<u>Adjourned</u>

There being no further business to discuss, President Zumbrink called for a motion to adjourn made by Treasurer Wright ; Second by Treasurer McGhee.

Meeting adjourned 11:00 AM .