MRCA Awards Program

MRCA provides members an opportunity to nominate colleagues for their excellence in the roofing industry by offering four award categories. These prestigious awards are presented at the Membership Meeting each year at the Annual Conference. Whether it’s contributions to the industry, innovative products, compliant safety program, or giving back to the community, companies and individuals deserve to be recognized for a job well done.


About the Awards

James Q. McCawley Award

McCawley Pin

This award is given to an individual in recognition of their devotion to the roofing industry and is the most prestigious award given by MRCA. This award was first presented in 1969 and is a long standing tradition of MRCA. To learn about the history of this Award and view a list of previous award winner, click here.

Click here to complete an online nomination form

This year’s recipient was John M. Daly of Kaw Roofing & Sheet Metal in Kansas City, KS.

John’s Grandfather, Tom Daly, started the company in 1923 in Kansas City, KS where John started working in the warehouse when he was about 13 years of age. John worked on roofs throughout high school and college and in 1979 started working full-time in the business as an estimator. John’s father, Pat, passed away in 1987 leaving his two brothers and himself to run the family business. John has since been a past president of his local CSI Chapter (Construction Specifications Institute), a long-time member of ASTM and the MRCA T &R Committee and was President of MRCA in 2009. His Grandfather received the McCawley Award in 1981 and his son, Chris Daly, is currently serving  on the MRCA Board of Directors.


Safety Program Awards

The Midwest Roofing Contractors Association Safety Program Award recognizes MRCA member companies that have demonstrated a commitment to improving jobsite safety through development, implementation, and enforcement of a safety and risk management program. 

Members who apply for this Award submit the answers to a series of questions regarding their program.  Their safety plans are reviewed and scored by members of the MRCA Safety and Operations Committee and by MRCA Legal Counsel Gary Auman. All member companies that submit applications will receive a detailed written critique of their safety program from Auman, Mahan & Furry as well as their awards.

The application for the Safety Awards Program and the ELITE Contractor program have been combined.  To become an ELITE Contractor, a firm must earn a Bronze or higher award on their safety program review and meet additional criteria such as being registered or licensed in the jurisdictions in which they perform work, being OSHA Compliant, meeting state insurance, bonding, and workers compensation requirements and they also have to complete eight hours of industry-related continuing education.

Click here to apply for the 2018 Safety Awards and ELITE Contractor Program

The following MRCA Members have attained their safety award and achieved ELITE status. 

Bronze Award Status:   

Pioneer Roofing, LLC

Silver Award Status:

AAA Roofing Company
Delta Innovative Services
L. Marshall Roofing & Sheet Metal
MHS Legacy Group (RSS Roofing Services & Solutions)
Queen City Roofing & Contracting Co.















Gold Award Status:
CIM Roofing, Inc.
Crafts, Inc.
Diamond Everley Roofing Contractors
Harness Roofing, Inc.
Kirberg Company
Knickerbocker Roofing & Paving Co.
Kreiling Roofing Company
Maxwell Roofing & Sheet Metal
R. Adams Roofing, Inc.
Roof Tech, Inc.
Sprague Roofing Company
Sterling Commercial Roofing, Inc.

Dsc00887 2

Platinum Award Status:
Advanced Industrial Roofing, Inc.
Gwaltney, Inc. dba Diamond Roofing
KPost Roofing & Waterproofing
Langer Roofing & Sheet Metal
Southern Roofing, Inc.
T&K Roofing & Sheet Metal Company
Texas Roof Management, Inc.


MRCA Impact Award

The MRCA Impact Award recognizes an MRCA member company that has demonstrated a commitment to improving the well-being of communities or individuals through philanthropy or community service demonstrated at a local or national level.

MRCA Innovation Award

The MRCA Industry Innovations award recognizes suppliers/manufacturers who have contributed to the advancement of the roofing industry through innovations and/or product development in the areas of safety, technology, efficiency, or environment that have significantly improved the well-being of the roofing contractor.