

Contact: Lisa Reynolds, Executive Director 919-821-7300 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

NCAB ANNOUNCES ITS 2017 STATION AWARD WINNERS

RALEIGH, NC, (June 27, 2017) – The North Carolina Association of Broadcasters (NCAB) recently announced winners of the 2017 NCAB Station Awards.

2017 Television Awards

Outstanding Newscast

WSOC-TV, Charlotte, NC, received **Outstanding Newscast Award** for team coverage of a shooting in downtown Charlotte during what was a peaceful protest. WSOC-TV's news team provided live coverage of the event.

An ABC affiliate, WSOC-TV, is part of Cox Media Group. Linda Nester, assistant news director, accepted the award.

Outstanding Sports Story or Series

WRAL-TV, Raleigh, NC, was awarded **Outstanding Sports Story** for its coverage of local swimmer Ryan Held's quest for a gold medal at the 2016 Summer Olympic Games in Rio. Reporters Debra Morgan and Jeff Gravley were live in Rio and were able to interview Held immediately after he won the gold.

WRAL-TV is an NBC affiliate and is owned by Capitol Broadcasting Company. Jeff Gravley and Debra Morgan of WRAL-TV accepted the award.

Outstanding Hard News or Breaking Story

WJZY-TV, Charlotte, NC, received the **Outstanding Hard News or Breaking Story Award** for its indepth, real time coverage of the protests in the University Area of Charlotte. These protests occurred following a Charlotte Police Department shooting of an African American male.

WJZY-TV, a Fox affiliate, is owned by Fox Television Stations. General Manager Kieran Clarke accepted the award.

Outstanding Community Involvement

WRAL-TV, Raleigh, NC, was awarded **Outstanding Community Involvement** for a special documentary on relations between the Raleigh Police Department and the African American community. The documentary was centered on a shooting that occurred in downtown Raleigh in 2016.

Capitol Broadcasting Company owns WRAL-TV, an NBC affiliate. NCAB Past President Steve Hammel, Clay Johnson and Jim Rothschild accepted the award.

Best News Anchor

Debra Morgan, anchor/reporter of WRAL-TV, Raleigh, NC, was named **Best News Anchor**. A ten-time Emmy Award winner, she has been a member of the WRAL-TV team since 1993.

In 2016, Debra reported live at the Summer Olympic Games in Rio. She also provided detailed coverage during Hurricane Matthew.

2017 Radio Awards

Radio Station of the Year

1) WKZL-FM, Greensboro, NC, was the recipient of the **Radio Station of the Year Award, Large Market Category**. WKZL-FM is the home of *Jared and Katie in the Morning* and is very supportive of its local community. Last year, the station presented tickets to a Taylor Swift concert and the opportunity to arrange a meeting between the singer and a little girl with terminal cancer.

WKZL's Director of Programming, Jason Goodman, accepted the award on behalf of the station. Dick Broadcasting owns WKZL-FM.

2) WKML-FM, Fayetteville, NC, was awarded the **Radio Station of the Year, Medium Market Category**. WKML-FM is a county music station that prides itself in being a leader in the community. Last year, it raised over \$191,000 for St. Jude Children Research Hospital during its annual radiothon. The station also assisted its citizens during the aftermath of Hurricane Matthew.

WKML-FM is a Beasley Broadcast Group station. WKML-FM morning personality Don Chase accepted the award.

3) WIXE-AM, Monroe, NC, was presented the **Radio Station of the Year, Non-Metro Category.** It broadcasts a local talk format as well as a classic country & classic rock format. The station has been continuously on the air since 1968. It is known as a swap shop station for citizens who have items that need to be sold. This began in the 1960s and continues today.

Station owner Archie Morgan accepted the award on behalf of the station. WIXE-AM is a Monroe Broadcasting Company radio station.

Radio Personality or Team of the Year

 The Team of the Year, Large Market Category, was awarded to *Jared and Katie In The Morning* on WKZL-FM, Greensboro, NC. Jared Pike and Katie Tesh lead the show and are joined on air by Man Kisser Matt (Matt Wells), Hugs O'Houlihan (Thomas Marvin), and Jason Goodman. The team delivers must-listen radio each morning by sharing everything about their lives to crazy stunts on the street, which keep their audience engaged and entertained.

Dick Broadcasting owns WKRR-FM. The entire team was on hand to accept the award.

2) Mick Galloway, host of *The Short Bus with Mick* on WXNR-FM, New Bern, NC, was presented with the Radio Personality of the Year Award, Medium Market Category. The best way to describe *The Short Bus with Mick* is like this... "Unexpected, brutal honesty with a smile and a rock soundtrack."

WXNR-FM is a Curtis Media Group station.

3) Rich & Jenny In the Morning of WIOZ-FM, Southern Pines, NC, was named the Team of the Year, Small Market Category. Rich Rushforth and Jenny Cruz lead this show, which is very involved in serving its local community. In 2016, they raised over \$14,000 during their Stop Hunger Day.

WIOZ-FM is owned by Muirfield Broadcasting.

About NCAB

The North Carolina Association of Broadcasters is a statewide organization of public and commercial radio and television broadcast stations. The purpose of the Association is to promote closer cooperation and understanding among members; to make possible unified effort when unity is beneficial; to protect its members in every lawful and proper manner from injustices and unjust exactions; to encourage and promote customs and practices which will be for the best interests of the public and the broadcasting industry; and to help educate the public and business generally concerning the uses and values of broadcasting advertising. Additional information is available on the NCAB website (www.ncbroadcast.com).