

Date: March 1, 2019

Emergency Medicine Physician of the Year Award to Be Presented at the Ohio ACEP Emergency Medicine Assembly to Daniel J. Bachmann, MD, FACEP

Columbus, OH—The Ohio Chapter of the American College of Emergency Physicians (Ohio ACEP) is pleased to announce that the recipient of the 2019 *Emergency Medicine Physician of the Year Award* is **Daniel J. Bachmann, MD, FACEP**, a devoted emergency physician and outstanding educator.

The Emergency Physician of the Year Award was created to recognize clinicians of unusual merit and celebrate physicians who encourage members to pursue the ideals of emergency medicine. Recipients of this award serve as outstanding physician role models, maintain high professional standards, provide high-quality care, and demonstrate dedication to emergency medicine.

Dr. Daniel Bachmann, Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine at The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center, truly embodies each of these traits. Highly respected by both his students and attending physician colleagues, Dr. Bachmann is known as a dedicated physician leader with a wide breadth of expertise. In 2016, Dr. Bachmann's colleagues presented him with the Exceptional Physician Peer Award.



Daniel J. Bachmann, MD, FACEP 2019 Emergency Medicine Physician of the Year

Aside from his excellence in clinical emergency medicine, Dr. Bachmann is widely recognized as an expert in disaster medicine. He current serves as Director of Disaster Preparedness for OSU Wexner Medical Center, helps to lead local and regional disaster exercises, and, at a national level, has been deployed multiple times in areas devastated by hurricanes as part of his responsibilities as a medical team manager with FEMA Urban Search & Rescue (Ohio Task Force 1). His extensive work in the arena of disaster medicine has resulted in numerous publications, presentations, and invited lectures at a number of institutions.

Dr. Bachmann was nominated as Emergency Physician of the Year by his colleague, Dr. Nicholas Kman (Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine, OSU Wexner Medical Center). In his letter, Dr. Kman describes Dr. Bachmann as the "epitome of a multi-talented, clinically excellent, and compassionate emergency physician." In addition to his accomplishments in emergency medicine, Dr. Kman says, Dr. Bachmann has also served as a U.S. Navy Physician and as captain of the Ohio State University Emergency Medicine Pelotonia team.

The Emergency Medicine Physician of the Year Award will be presented to Dr. Bachmann on March 20, 2019, at the Ohio ACEP Emergency Medicine Assembly in Columbus. Ohio ACEP congratulates Dr. Bachmann for his well-earned honor!

###

Ohio ACEP is a state medical specialty society representing emergency medicine physicians with more than 1,500 members. For more than 40 years, Ohio ACEP has served the state's emergency physicians through tireless advocacy, nationally recognized continuing medical education, and physician leadership development.

Further information: Justin Spicer, 614-582-0770, jspicer@ohacep.org.