

The Ohio Orthopaedic Society

66 East Lynn Street • Columbus, OH 43215 Tele. 614/464-2878 • FAX 614/464-2694 • www.ohioorthosociety.org

Officers

John K. Sontich, MD President- Cleveland

Jonathan B. Feibel, MD President-Elect- Columbus

Scott D. Weiner, MD Secretary-Treasurer- Akron

Michael T. Archdeacon, MD Secretary-Treasure-Elect-Cincinnati

Member-At-Large

David H. Sohn, MD Toledo

Daniel M. Myer, MD Akron

Councilors to AAOS

Raymond S. Duffett, MD Youngstown

Christopher G. Furey, MD Cleveland

Mark A. Snyder, M.D. Cincinnati

Membership Co-Chairmen

James T. Lehner, MD Dayton

Carl C. Berasi, DO Columbus

Resident's Program Co – Chairmen

Joel L. Mayerson, MD Columbus

John S. Urse, DO Dayton

Resident Member

Salvatore Frangiamore, MD Cleveland

Historian

Warren G. Harding, III, MD Cincinnati

Executive Director

Stephen C. Landerman Columbus

DATE: April 9, 2014

TO: Orthopaedic Physician Assistants FROM: John K. Sontich, M.D., President

RE: Registration – 2014 Annual Meeting May 15-16,

On behalf of the Executive Committee of the Ohio Orthopaedic Society, I cordially invite you to attend the 75th Annual Meeting to be held at the Columbus Marriott Northwest 5605 Blazer Parkway, Dublin, Ohio, on Thursday May 15th and Friday May 16th. We are planning an excellent scientific and social program.

Highlights of this year's meeting include:

- A Special Program on Thursday evening to commemorate the 75th
 Anniversary of the Ohio Orthopaedic Society. (see special invitation enclosed)
- An outstanding socio-economic session featuring presentations on Federal and State Legislation affecting the practice of orthopaedics
- A review of the Affordable Care Act and the future of the program "Train Wreck or Smooth Sailing?"
- A panel discussion by office administrators on the bundled payment care initiative by CMS and how it could redesign the delivery of healthcare.
- Resident Papers Contest featuring 12 of the best resident papers chosen by a panel of judges prior to the meeting.
- The always popular "Jeopardy Contest" which tests the clinical knowledge of longtime OOS members and residents.

Please plan on attending this outstanding orthopaedic meeting. Thursday activities include lunch / golf at the New Albany Country Club and a dinner at the Columbus Club honoring Past Presidents and longtime active members of the Ohio Orthopaedic Society.

If you have questions please contact Steve Landerman at the society offices in Columbus at (614) 464-2878 or email steve@ohioorthosociety.org.

This program will be accredited by the AAOS for up to 7 CME credits to participants based on the number of hours in attendance.



The Ohio Orthopaedic Society 75th Annual Meeting Columbus Marriott Northwest 5605 Blazer Parkway, Dublin, Ohio 43017

May 15-16, 2014

REGISTRATION FORM

PLEASE PRINT CLEARLY OR TYPE:						
Name	Guest					
Address						
City	State	Zip _				
Phone	Email Address ₋					
** An email confirmation, as well as registration materials will be emailed to you, so please make sure to include a valid email address.						
FEES (All fees include registration materials, Friday	y breakfast and lunched	on.)				
	COST	NUMBER ATTENDING	TOTAL			
Registration Fee	\$90					
Thursday Activities Golf and Lunch Lunch at Noon/ Golf at 1 p.m. New Albany Country Club Scramble Format	\$175					
75 th Anniversary Celebration 6:30 pm Reception, 7:00 Dinner	\$85					
The Columbus Club, 181 E. Broad Street, Columbus, C	Н	TOTAL ENCLOSED	\$	_		
PAYMENT INFORMATION						
Make checks payable to The Ohio 66 East Lynn Credit Card I hereby authorize the following amount to b	Street, Columbu	s, Ohio 43215 Fax (61	4) 464-2694	AMEX		
Amount Authorized: Card #						
Expiration Date: Name as it appears on card:						
Billing Address of Credit Card						

Full refund of the registration fee and meal costs will be allowed if request for cancellation is received on or before <u>May 2nd</u>. For further information please contact the Society at (614) 464-2878 or email steve@ohioorthosociety.org

Lodging Reservations

Columbus Marriott Northwest 5605 Blazer Parkway Dublin, Ohio 43017 1-888-801-7133

We have reserved a number of rooms at the special rate listed below until May 2nd however you are advised to make you reservation early as the rooms tend to go quickly and in the past participants have had to find alternate accommodations.

Room Rates

Single/Double \$142.00 (plus tax)

 $\underline{\text{http://www.marriott.com/hotels/travel/} \textbf{cmhnw?} groupCode= \textbf{paepaea} \& app=resvlink \& from Date= \textbf{05/14/14} \& to Date= \textbf{05/16/14} \& stop_mobi=yes}$

2014 OOS Annual Meeting Schedule

Thursday, May 15, 2014

12:00 pm -1:00 pm	Lunch —New Albany Country Club		
1:00 pm - 5:00 pm	Golf - New Albany County Club		
2:00 pm - 6:00 pm	Exhibitor Set-Up – Marriott Hotel		
6:30 pm – 8:30 pm	75 th Anniversary Celebration - Columbus Club		
Friday, May 16, 2014			
7:00 am – 8:00 am	Continental Breakfast (Exhibit Area)		
8:00 am - 8:30 am	Business Meeting / Election of Officers		
8:30 am - 9:30 am	OOS Annual Meeting Program		
8:30 am - 12:00 pm	Ohio Association of Orthopaedic Executives Meeting		
9:30 am - 10:00 am	Break (Exhibit Area)		
10:00 am - 12:00 am	Annual Meeting Program		
12:00 am - 1:00 pm	Lunch		
1:00 pm – 1:45 pm	Healthcare Keynote Speaker		
1:45 pm – 2:23 pm	Resident Papers		
2:33 pm – 3:00 pm	Break		
3:00 pm – 4:16 pm	Resident Papers		
4:16 pm – 4:45 pm	Jeopardy Contest		
4:45 pm – 5:00 pm	Resident Papers Awards		
	Closing Remarks		

9:00 am - 12:00 pm Board meeting—New Albany Country Club

John K. Sontich, M.D. Cleveland. Ohio

March 25, 2014

I am writing to invite you to a very special evening honoring the past presidents and longtime active board members of the Ohio Orthopaedic Society.

This year marks the 75th Anniversary of the founding of the Ohio Orthopaedic Society. To commemorate this milestone a reception and dinner will be held at the Columbus Club, 181 East Broad Street, Columbus, 43215 on Thursday evening, May 15, 2014. The reception will begin at 6:30 and dinner will be served at 7:00pm.

Following dinner a once in a lifetime program moderated by Raymond S. Duffett, M.D., and Warren G. Harding, III, M.D. will feature J. Richard Briggs, MD, J. Patrick Flanagan, MD, Ronald E. Kendrick, MD, Edward H. Miller, MD, John B. Roberts, MD, Gerald W. Sutherland, MD and Martin A. Torch, MD as they reflect on their lives in Orthopaedics from *Residency to Retirement*.

Their commitment to their profession, patients and the Ohio Orthopaedic Society is unequaled and they have set an example of excellence for all of us who follow. I am sure you won't want to miss this unique event. Please indicate on the enclosed registration form if you can attend.

I look forward to seeing you for this evening of camaraderie and fellowship with your orthopaedic colleagues from throughout Ohio.

Sincerely,

John K. Sontich, MD President, Ohio Orthopaedic Society

Honorees

John B. Roberts, MD	William L Hassler, MD *	Mark A. Snyder, MD
James G. Roberts, MD*	Richard H. Deerhake, MD	Ronald E. Kendrick, MD
Alan W. Holderness, MD *	George H. Thompson, MD	Warren G. Harding, III, MD
Robert S. Heidt, MD *	John R. Kean, MD	Michael C. Albert, MD
Gerald W. Sutherland, MD	J. Patrick Flanagan, MD	Mark C. Leeson, MD
Martin A. Torch, MD	James J. Wanken, MD	
J. Richard Briggs, MD	James T. Lehner, MD	
Edward H. Miller, MD	Raymond S. Duffett, MD	
Alan H. Wilde, MD *		*deceased