# Ohio Chapter ISA Annual Meeting Minutes February 26, 2019

Kalahari Convention Center, Sandusky, OH

The meeting was called to order at 7:50 am. 64 members and 6 guests were recorded as present.

### **Opening Remarks**

President Eric Davis recognized board members, liaisons, exhibitors and sponsors. He also thanked the OTCC committee members for their efforts in putting together a stellar program.

### Necrology

Ralph Veverka, 1978 Chapter president passed away shortly after the 2019 OTCC. Bonnie Heim passed away in July and Patrick Tilt passed suddenly this past weekend. There was a moment of silence honoring those individuals.

#### **Awards**

The following awards were presented:

Award of Merit Mark Webber
Award of Achievement Lola Lewis
Honorary Life Member Thomas Munn
ISA Gold Leaf Wendi Van Buren
President's Award Dixie Russell

#### TREE Fund

Maggie Harthoorn reviewed the TREE Fund's successes, goals and opportunities. She acknowledged the Ohio Chapter for their continued contributions.

### **Chapter Report**

President Davis reminded members that the Chapter has a new website, and thanks to the work of the marketing committee, a new public site, Trees4Ohio.org. He encouraged members to update their member profile where consumers will soon be able to search for Ohio tree care professionals based on location, services offered and more.

The Chapter's specialty license plate legislation was passed in December. The plate will direct consumers to the consumer site and be available at Ohio BMV stations later this year. Each plate sold will generate \$15 towards the Chapter's scholarship fund.

### **Chapter Scholarships**

2018 scholarship recipients were recognized:

## Certified Arborist \$750 Scholarship

- Meagen Kresge
- Carl Wunderle III

## **Professional Development \$500 Scholarship**

Diana Sette

## Traditional Student \$1,000 Scholarship

- Robert Hammond
- Joseph Moeglin
- Ryan Vogel

### **Meeting Minutes**

The 2018 annual meeting minutes and the annual report including a financial update were available at each table. There was a motion and a second to **accept the 2018 annual meeting minutes** as presented. **Motion carried.** 

### **Treasurer's Report**

Treasurer Thomas Munn provided the financial report noting that the Chapter remains in good standing and the annual tax returns are available on the Chapter's website as required by IRS for non-profit 501(c)3 organizations.

President Brinker provided an organizational update noting that 2017 continued to focus on building bridges with allied organizations. The Chapter participated in the Ohio High School Olympics and exhibited at both the TCIExpo and MGIX.

## **Election Results**

The 2019 Board of Directors were announced as Tyler Stevenson (President), David Bienemann (Vice President); and Directors Virginia Bowman, Scott Conover, Dale Hopkins, Kevin Jones, Sue Mottl, Steve Schneider and Eric Davis (Past President). Anyone interested in filling the position of treasurer was encouraged to talk to a board member or the staff.

Stevenson presented Davis with the outgoing president's plaque, honorary life membership, and thanked him for his years of service.

### <u>Adjournment</u>

No further business being heard, President Davis adjourned the meeting at 8:28 am. Dixie J. Russell, CAE, CMP Executive Director and Secretary