

In the Name and by the Authority of

WHEREAS, the state of Ohio is proudly home to the Ohio University Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine and looks forward to the groundbreaking of the nation's first Jesuit College of Osteopathic Medicine at Xavier University;

WHEREAS, there are two types of physicians in the United States: Medical Doctors (MDs) and Doctors of Osteopathic Medicine (DOs); and

WHEREAS, founded by Dr. Andrew Taylor Still in 1874, DOs bring a unique approach to the practice of medicine by considering the whole person -- body, mind, and spirit; and

WHEREAS, similar to MDs, training and education for DOs is rigorous, involving four years of medical school followed by specialty training and a residency program; and

WHEREAS, as of 2024, there are more than 197,000 osteopathic physicians and medical students in the U.S.; and

WHEREAS, in fact, one in four medical students is enrolled in an osteopathic medical school; and

WHEREAS, in the U.S., DOs practice in every medical and surgical specialty, representing more than 11% of the physician workforce; and

NOW, THEREFORE, WE, Mike DeWine and Jon Husted, Governor and Lieutenant Governor of the State of Ohio, do hereby recognize

OSTEOPATHIC MEDICINE MONTH

on this 1st day of December 2024.

mike

Mike DeWine Governor



Jon Husted Lieutenant Governor