OOA Hosts Largest Convention in 30 years

The Ohio Osteopathic Convention, held June 19-22 in Columbus, was the organization's largest in the past 30 years. While the numbers haven't been officially tallied, nearly 400 physicians, residents, interns, and osteopathic medical students attended.

Highlights included the installation of Barbara A. Bennett, DO, of Dayton, as OOA president for 2008-2009; keynote addresses from AOA President Peter B. Ajluni, DO, ACOFP President Ronnie B. Martin, DO, and Ohio Supreme Court Justice Evelyn L. Stratton; the traditional Farewell Brunch with grand prize drawings; the OOA-Centers for Osteopathic Research & Education Poster Exhibition; and the JO Watson, DO, Memorial Lecture.

In addition to Bennett, other physicians elected to the Executive Committee were President-elect Christopher J. Loyke, DO, of Cleveland; First Vice President Schield M. "Sandy" Wikas, DO, of Akron/Canton (who served as Convention chair); Second Vice President Albert M. Salomon, DO, of Columbus; Treasurer John F. Ramey, DO, of Sandusky; and Member-at-Large Ray J. Miller, DO, of Toledo.

Several physicians were honored during the Convention. George Thomas, DO, of Cleveland, received the Distinguished Service Award, the OOA's highest honor for an osteopathic physician; Robert S. Juhasz, DO, of Cleveland, received the Trustees Award; and three Dayton-area physicians, Alison A. Clarey, DO, Connie J. McCarroll, DO, and Jeffrey S. Rogers, DO, received the M. Bridget Wagner, DO, Humanitarian Award. In addition, Carl J. Denbow, PhD, received the OOA Meritorious Service Award and Michael M. Patterson, PhD, a researcher at the College of Osteopathic Medicine at Nova Southeastern University in Florida, received the JO Watson, DO, Memorial Lecture Award.

Fifteen physicians received Life Membership Awards: Lawrence J. Anderle, DO, of Massillon; Seth W. Brown, DO, of Canton; Anthony G. Chila, DO, of Athens; Robert E. Dressler Jr, DO, of Eaton; Galen G. Durose Sr., DO, of Lancaster; Thomas H. Henderson, DO, of Dayton; James G. Laws, DO, of Germantown; Eli N. Perencevich, DO, of Columbus; Peter A. Sambol, DO, of Eaton; Robert G. Simmons Jr, DO, of Lebanon; David W. Smith, DO, of Canton; Richard F. Sulek, DO, of Cincinnati; John F. Uslick, DO, of Canton; Robert D. Verona, DO, of Columbus; Ronald E. Wolf, DO, of Dayton

The Ohio ACOFP presented several awards during the Family Medicine Day luncheon where Mark S. Jeffries, DO, of Dayton, was installed as the organization's president. M. Terrance Simon, DO, of Massillon, was named Family Physician of the Year; Katherine A. "Toni" Clark, DO, of Dayton, received the Distinguished Service Award; and John L. Oehler, DO, of South Webster, received the Young Family Physician of the Year Award. In addition, Lisa A. Phelps, DO, was named FP Resident of the Year, and four Family Medicine residents were recognized for their winning research and academic papers.

Winners of the OOA-CORE Poster Exhibition were Safi Faruqui - Two Cases of Unusual Coronal Lunate Fractures; Jaime Rehmann - A Cause of Recurrent Pulmonary Infections in a 12-Year-Old; Tim Heckman - Do African American and Whites Respond Equally Well to Headache Treatments? Findings from a Longitudinal, Naturalistic Study; and Daniel Miller - Nuchal Cord and Neonatal Outcome.

Three exhibitors won awards: Medtronic Diabetes was named Most Educational Exhibit; Family Health Radio took home the Judges Choice Award; and Auxilium Pharmaceutical won Best Overall Exhibit.

Timothy Hogan, DO, of Shade, took home the Convention Grand Prize of $2,500. Nicholas V. Landry, DO, won second prize, a two night stay in the African Queen Suite (accommodating up to 8 people), waterpark admission, dinner, and more at the Kalahari Resort in Sandusky; and third prize, a pocket-size camcorder, was won by Katherine Richmond, DO.

The OOA House of Delegates reviewed 18 resolutions including new and existing policy statements. Delegates adopted seven new positions regarding patient medical care expense control, suicide prevention and screening, taser safety, wireless enhanced 9-1-1 service, medication reconciliation, affirmation of the abbreviation DO, and photo ID requirement for Schedule II drugs. House Speaker Robert S. Seiple, DO, retired from his position at the close of the two-day session, after 35 years of service.

The Advocates installed Mary Schreck, of Athens, as president and announced Irene Bell, of Hilliard, as the AOOA Osteopathic Spirit Award winner for 2008.

Physicians who haven't yet submitted their completed CME Reporting Sheet are reminded to fax it to the OOA Central Office as soon as possible.

To see a few pictures of the event, click on "Annual Convention" under the "CME" navigation button at the top of the page.

Printer-Friendly Version

2014 OOA
Member Census

  • FREE IT Services Checkup
  • Chance to win $100 Visa Gift Card
  • Access to other Members-only Benefits

Update Information Now

Contact Us

Call (855) 319-7828 today
to schedule a complimentary practice consultation.

An hour with our team could save you thousands of dollars!

Upcoming Events

 July 2020 
view all >>>