AOA House of Delegates Convenes in Chicago

Some 500 DOs convened July 18-19 for the American Osteopathic Association (AOA) House of Delegates to consider almost 200 policy and procedural resolutions. Delegates also elected the 2008-2009 AOA officers and saw Carlo J. DiMarco, DO, an ophthalmologist and educator at Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine, installed as the organization's 112th president. In his Inaugural Address, DiMarco described his presidential theme of Leading to Greatness: Initiatives in OGME, Research, and Advocacy.

Several Ohioans were in the spotlight during the meeting. Boyd W. Bowden, DO, and Robert S. Juhasz, DO, were each re-elected to a three-year term on the AOA Board of Trustees, and Robert S. Seiple, DO, was re-elected as vice speaker of the House. OU-COM Associate Dean of Graduate Medical Education D. Keith Watson, DO, was named Educator of the Year. The award honors individuals who demonstrate significant and long-standing contributions to the advancement of osteopathic students and the osteopathic medical profession.

Four Ohioans were named Great Pioneers: Boyd W. Bowden, DO; J. Richard Costin, DO; Jack D. Hutchison, DO; and Ruth E. Purdy, DO. The Great Pioneers recognition program grew out of the AOA Greatness Campaign as a way to honor those DOs and family members who made the profession's current prominence possible. All 40 inductees in this distinguished group are profiled in the July issue of The DO.

The Ohio delegation submitted four resolutions for consideration, of which two (reaffirmation of the DO degree and taser safety) were amended and approved. The other two, patient medical care expense control and suicide prevention and screening, were referred back for clarification and further study.

OOA President Barbara A. Bennett, DO, chaired the Ad Hoc Committee. In addition, the following OOA members served on committees: George Thomas, DO (Budget Review); Christopher J. Loyke, DO (Public Affairs); William J. Burke, DO (Educational Affairs); Brian Kessler, DO (Credentials); Jay H. Shubrook, DO (Constitution & Bylaws); William F. Emlich, Jr., DO (Professional Affairs); and Schield M. Wikas, DO (Resolutions).

Ohio's female delegates hosted a very well attended reception for their peers. The event, which has become an annual tradition, honored OOA President Barbara A. Bennett, DO.

Printer-Friendly Version

2014 OOA
Member Census

  • FREE IT Services Checkup
  • Chance to win $100 Visa Gift Card
  • Access to other Members-only Benefits

Update Information Now

Contact Us

Call (855) 319-7828 today
to schedule a complimentary practice consultation.

An hour with our team could save you thousands of dollars!

Upcoming Events

 June 2021 
view all >>>