Ohio Osteopathic Symposium Sets Attendance Record


(June 6, 2013) The Ohio Osteopathic Symposium, held May 15-19 in Columbus, was a great success, with more than 800 people in attendance over the five days. Participants included physicians, residents, students, speakers, exhibitors, poster presenters, staff, and guests.

The event, now in its fourth year, is a collaboration between OOA and OU-HCOM. Along with medical lectures, the Symposium included business meetings and social events. The CME program, worth 32.5 hours of category 1-A credit, was chaired by Paul T. Scheatzle, DO, and Eric H. Beck, DO. 

Several national dignitaries were in attendance including AOA President-elect Norman E. Vinn, DO, of California; ACOFP President Jeffrey S. Grove, DO, of Florida; and AOA Executive Director John B. Crosby, JD.

Handouts for the lectures, including the Addiction Medicine sessions on Sunday morning, are available online at http://tinyurl.com/OOS2013.>


OOA House of Delegates Conducts Business, Elects Officers


The OOA House of Delegates debated 14 resolutions and adopted five new policy statements regarding gun control with respect to the physician-patient relationship; insurance participation; engaging osteopathic physicians as preceptors; social media guidelines; and the dangers of energy drinks. Four of the resolutions will be sent to the AOA House of Delegates for national consideration.

Robert L. Hunter, DO, of Beavercreek, was installed as the 107th OOA president and the following officers were elected: President-elect Paul T. Scheatzle, DO, of Canton; Vice President Robert W. Hostoffer, Jr., DO, of Cleveland; Treasurer Geraldine N. Urse, DO, of Columbus; Speaker John F. Uslick, DO; and Vice Speaker David A. Bitonte, DO, MBA, MPH. John F. Ramey, DO, remains on the Executive Committee as past president.

The Ohio Osteopathic Political Action Committee (OOPAC) announced results of its 2012-2013 District Challenge during the House of Delegates. The Columbus Osteopathic Association won first place for total giving and the Sandusky Academy was first in average giving per member.


Four Organizations Honor Mentors and Peers


Geraldine N. Urse, DO, received the 2013 George L. Eckert, Jr., DO Mentor of the Year Award from among six nominees. In addition, 19 physicians were inducted into the new OOA Mentor Hall of Fame. Click here to see a  slide presentation honoring the first inductees.

The Ohio Osteopathic Association recognized the following award recepients during a special Awards reception:

  • Harold Clay Thompson III, DO, of Athens, received the Distinguished Service Award, the OOA’s highest honor;
  • William J. Burke, DO, of Columbus recieved the Trustees Award;
  • James R. Castle, who recently retired as president of the Ohio Hospital Association, received the Meritorious Service Award;
  • Lori Gill Grennan, DO, posthumously received the M. Bridget Wagner, DO, Humanitarian Award.

Ohio ACOFP also presented five awards during the Awards ceremony:

  • Family Physician of the Year - Richard M. Garwood, DO, of Cleveland;
  • Distinguished Service Award - George Thomas, DO, of Cleveland;
  • Young Family Physician of the Year - Jane T. Balbo, DO, of Athens; and
  • Family Practice Resident of the Year - Kimberly N. Jackson, DO, of Warren.

OU-HCOM presented awards to:

  • Troy Tyner, DO - Medal of Merit;
  • Paul G. Martin, DO - Honorary Alumnus;
  • Paige S. Gutheil Henderson, DO - Distinguished Service Award;
  • Erik J. Reaves, DO - Outstanding Alumnus; and
  • Kristen J. Conrad-Schnetz, DO - Recent Graduate Award.

Ashley B. Simpson, DO, of Cleveland, received the Osteopathic Spirit Award presented by the Advocates for the Ohio Osteopathic Association.

For profiles about all of the profession's honorees, click here.

Twenty-one physicians received their OOA Life Memberships: David C. Ashcraft, DO; John E. Barb, DO; John R. Bowling, DO; John V. Cady, DO; Stuart B. Chesky, DO; Dean L. Colwell, DO; James M. Essad, DO; Abigail H. Faerber, DO; Bernard J. Fox, DO; Richard L. Fuller, DO; David P. Herr, DO; J. Paul Martz, DO; Nick J. Mulchin, DO; William G. Paloski, DO; Samuel J. Pipes, DO; John E. Ratliff, DO; Earl R. Staddon, DO; Ned A. Underwood, DO; Aivars Vitols, DO; George W. Vogelgesang, DO; and Charles G. VonderEmbse, DO.

Jack Brose, DO, delivered the JO Watson, DO, Memorial Lecture. The presentation is  an ongoing tribute to one of Ohio’s most respected osteopathic physicians, is sponsored jointly by the Ohio Osteopathic Foundation and Osteopathic Heritage Foundations.


Ohio ACOFP Picks Leaders, Present Resident Paper Awards


Ohio ACOFP conducted its Annual Meeting during the Symposium and installed Melinda E. Ford, DO, of Athens, as president for 2013-2014.

The organization also recognized three Family Medicine residents who won the Residency Paper Competition sponsored by Ohio ACOFP and the CORE. Each won a cash prize sponsored by Grandview Foundation:

  • First Place - Leslie Ching, DO (Doctors Hospital, Columbus);
  • Second Place - Elizabeth Gomes, DO (Firelands Regional Medical Center, Sandusky); and
  • Third Place - Theresa R. Sheridan, DO (St. Joseph Health Center, Warren).


Poster Competition Is the Largest Ever


In the Regional Poster Competition & Exhibition, winners were:

  • Molly McGraw, DO (PGY 2, Grandview Medical Center, Dayton);
  • Erich Heine, OMS II (OU-HCOM);
  • John Idoine, DO (PGY 5, Doctors Hospital, Columbus);
  • Chance Spalding, DO (PGY 3, Doctors Hospital/Grant Medical Center);
  • Christopher Kieliszak, DO (Traditional Rotating Intern, Adena Regional Medical Center, Chillicothe); and
  • Ross Brubaker, OMS III (West Virginia School of Medicine).

Renee Sartain, DO, of Columbus, won the Symposium Grand Prize of $1,500. Robert J. Marx, DO, of Youngstown, won second prize, $1,000; and third prize, $500, was won by Elliot L. Neufeld, DO, of Columbus.

Three exhibitors won awards: Cleveland HeartLab was Best Overall Exhibit; Valeritas won Judges’ Choice; and Otsuka America Pharmaceutical was named Most Educational Exhibit. John C. Biery, DO; Melinda E. Ford, DO; and Sharon L. George, DO, served as judges.

Printer-Friendly Version

2014 OOA
Member Census

  • FREE IT Services Checkup
  • Chance to win $100 Visa Gift Card
  • Access to other Members-only Benefits

Update Information Now

Contact Us

Call (855) 319-7828 today
to schedule a complimentary practice consultation.

An hour with our team could save you thousands of dollars!

Upcoming Events

 June 2021 
view all >>>