Complete Story

Candidates For Rhetoric Society of America Elections Announced


This fall RSA members will elect candidates to fill six positions on the Board of Directors.  Four of the positions are for four-year terms, January 1, 2014 through December 31, 2017, and two are for student board members serving two-year terms, January 1, 2014 through December 31, 2015.

The Nominating Committee (Diane Davis, Kirt Wilson, and David Zarefsky, chair) proposed, and the RSA Board unanimously approved, the following list of candidates:

For position #1 (four-year term)

Robert Asen, University of Wisconsin
Vanessa Beasley, Vanderbilt University

For position #2 (four-year term)

Pat Gehrke, University of South Carolina
Ned O’Gorman, University of Illinois

For position #3 (four-year term)

Michael Bernard-Donals, University of Wisconsin
Shirley Wilson Logan, University of Maryland

For position #4 (four-year term)

Jenny Rice, University of Kentucky
Thomas Rickert, Purdue University

For student position #1 (two-year term)

Erica Fischer, University of South Carolina
Sarah Frank, University of Texas

For student position #2 (two-year term)

Christopher Fischer, University of Pittsburgh
Katie Lind, Indiana University

The election will take place from September 15 through October 15.  Information about how to access candidate statements and the ballot will be sent to you shortly before September 15.

Read the Rhetoric Society Quarterly Get information about our conferences Get information about our institutes Learn about becoming a member Access members-only content