Medical Advisory Board

SCAA seeks meaningful and productive partnerships with physicians, nurses, emergency health professionals, researchers, medical institutions and professional societies. SCAA and the medical and scientific communities should be working hand-in-hand to achieve the goal of elimination of unnecessary sudden cardiac deaths.

The Medical Advisory Board includes persons with expertise from a variety of fields. SCAA believes that working closely with those at the forefront of research and development of new devices, medications, therapies, guidelines and protocols will greatly assist the Association in fulfilling its mission. Through the Advisory Board, SCAA hopes to foster dialogue among participants aimed toward building and strengthening SCAA's capacity to develop and implement programs and activities to meet our core goals.

The Advisory Board serves in a consultation capacity to SCAA, providing guidance on planned or proposed initiatives, reviewing publication content, and identifying partnering opportunities. SCAA looks to the Advisory Committee to assure that its programs and positions are aligned with current medical knowledge.

To view brief biographies of each board member, click in the list below.

Benjamin Abella,MD,MPhil
Clifton Callaway, MD
Todd Cohen,MD
Ron Courson,UTC
Jonathan Drezner,MD
Mark Estes III,MD,FACC
Leonard Ganz, MD
Eric Grubman, MD
Christine Lawless,MD,MBA,FACC,CAQSM,ABCL
Joseph Marek MD
John J. Perkner, DO, MSPH
Cheryl Rickens, RN, BSN
Barbara Riegel,DNSc,RN,FAAN,FAHA
John Rogers, MD
Kate Flanigan Sawyer, MD, MPH, LCDR
Samuel Sears, PH.D.
Kevin L. Thomas, MD
Paul J. Wang, MD, FACC, FHRS



Medical Director's Corner

Vincent N. Mosesso, Jr., MD, FACEP, SCAA Medical Director

Vincent N. Mosesso, Jr., SCAA Medical DirectorVincent N. Mosesso, Jr., MD, is an associate professor in the Department of Emergency Medicine at the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine and medical director of prehospital care services for the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center. He is a co-founder and Medical Director of the National Center for Early Defibrillation, now called Sudden Cardiac Arrest Association.

He serves on the national Basic Life Support subcommittee and as advanced cardiac life support regional faculty for the American Heart Association.

Printer-Friendly Version

In the News

None at this time.

All News Stories »