## Southern Ohio Synod Hunger Task Force Report to Synod Assembly

The Southern Ohio Synod (SOS) Hunger Task Force reconvened via email late summer 2018 under the office and direction of Pastor Katie Kerrigan, Director of Evangelical Mission. ELCA World Hunger updated the grant process to focus on addressing hunger in transformative, holistic and integrated ways. The funding process for grants was also updated. Domestic Hunger Grant applicants were distributed among task force members who were encouraged to visit those grant applicants if possible to gather information and develop relationships.

The Task Force met in October 2018 to review ELCA World Hunger Domestic Hunger Grant applications from hunger ministries in the SOS. The updated review process was very comprehensive, and Task Force members were charged with sharing their research and completing the Domestic Hunger Grant Rubric for each applicant. Task Force members were also asked to submit in writing a summary of their findings on an Applicant Conversation form. Grant applications were then submitted to ELCA World Hunger Domestic Hunger Grants for consideration.

ELCA World Hunger Domestic Hunger Grant recipients were announced early 2019. Two grants were awarded in the Southern Ohio Synod: First English Lutheran Church, Columbus, received a Domestic Hunger Grant and the African International Lutheran Mission received a Horizon Grant.

The 2020 ELCA World Hunger Domestic Hunger Grant process has already opened. The Task Force will be visiting grant applicants this summer and reconvening in September to begin the work of preparing a Grant Rubric and Applicant Conversation form for each grant applicant.

The Task Force finished this year's activities at the 2019 SOS Assembly by hosting a Hunger Task Force table during Assembly breaks featuring ELCA Domestic Hunger Grant recipients in the Southern Ohio Synod.

Task Force members include Pastor Katie Kerrigan, Pastor Glen Bengson, Deacon Nick Bates, Brad Draper, Dave Drumm, Adele Hanson, Christine Miller, Michelle Riesbeck, and Paisha Thomas.

Respectively Submitted,

Michelle A. Riesbeck Hunger Task Force Chairperson May 7, 2019