Ohio ACOFP Elects Officers, Presents Awards

The Ohio ACOFP presented several awards during the Ohio Osteopathic Convention's Family Medicine Day luncheon where Jay H. Shubrook, Jr., DO, of Athens, was installed as the organization's president, succeeding William J. Burke, DO, of Columbus. Keynote speaker for the event was Steven F. Rubin, DO, FACOFP, Dist., President of the American College of Osteopathic Family Physicians from New Jersey.

Anita M. Steinbergh, DO, of Columbus, was surprised by receiving the 2007 Family Physician of the Year. As a member of the Ohio State Medical Board for the past 14 years, Dr. Steinbergh has chaired numerous Medical Board committees and was elected its president in 1999. In addition, she has served as chair of the Midwest Regional Medical Boards, a smember of the American Association of Osteopathic Examiners, and is a Fellow of the Federation of State Medical Boards.

James E. Preston, DO, of Sandusky, received the Ohio ACOFP Distinguished Service Award, for being a strong and vocal advocate for osteopathic medical education. Since being appointed Director of Medical Education at Firelands Regional Medical Center in 1991, he has developed new programs for mentoring, osteopathic manipulative medicine and medical grand rounds. Dr. Preston also serves as an Assistant Dean for the Ohio University College of Osteopathic Medicine's Centers for Research and Education.

Paige S. Gutheil, DO, of Columbus, received the Young Family Physician of the Year Award. Dr. Gutheil is a 2002 graduate of the Ohio University College of Osteopathic Medicine, where she received the Family Practice Award. In 2005, she was one of four residents in the nation to receive the Pfizer Outstanding Osteopathic Resident Award from the American Osteopathic Foundation. She was chief resident of the Family Practice Residency program at Doctors Hospital in Columbus, and now practices family medicine with her father, also a DO. She has participated in several medical missions to the Dominican Republic and Elize, and is currently Secretary-Treasurer of the Columbus Osteopathic Association.

Jocelynn Mann, DO, was named FP Resident of the Year, amd four Family Medicine residents were recognized for their winning research and academic papers. The following received cash awards, made possible by a grant from the Ohio Osteopathic Foundation. Winners included:

Anthony Lattavo, DO, of Doctors Hospital in Columbus for Evaluation and Management of Acute Low Back PAin in an Osteopathic Family Medicine Residency.

Jocelynn Mann, Do, and Kristin Witt, DO, of Doctors Hospital in Columbus, for Evaluation and Management of Depression in a Primary Care Setting.

Michael D. Martz, DO, of Doctors Hospital in Columbus, for Effectiveness of Prostate Cancer Screening at Doctors Hospital Family Practice Center.

Tadd J. Maxfield, DO, MAEd, of Cuyahoga Falls General Hospital, for Obesity and Physician Advice t Achieve Weight Loss.

Printer-Friendly Version