Complete Story


Broadcast Legends TV Programs Start




First-of-Its-Kind Look at the Trailblazers Behind North Carolina’s Airwaves


RESEARCH TRIANGLE PARK, NC, 7/1/2020—UNC-TV Public Media North Carolina presents an intimate, first-person look at North Carolina’s radio and television pioneers as NC Broadcast Legends premieres Thursday, July 9, at 7 PM, on the UNC-TV PBS & More channel. Each half-hour episode of the 13-part series, conceived by executive producer and host Mike Weeks, explores how these bold, visionary leaders pushed broadcasting’s boundaries to serve their communities.

“The NC Broadcast Legends project features our state’s leading radio and television leaders telling ‘their stories’ as only they can tell,” said Weeks. “The series is designed to preserve historical facts and stories from the rich and significant history of Broadcasting here in our state.”

North Carolina’s broadcasting history is not quite a century old, with early experiments by NC State University engineers in early 1922. By April of that year, the first commercial broadcaster, WBT Radio in Charlotte, signed on the air and followed that feat with the state’s first commercial television station, WBTV, in 1949. Public Television launched 65 years ago this year with WUNC-TV in Chapel Hill.

Over the last 98 years, leaders, with deep roots from the mountains to the coast, have powered NC’s broadcast industry with their commitment to storytelling, technology, innovation and public service. While the first generation of these radio and television pioneers has passed, many of those who followed are still here. Weeks, an award-winning broadcast veteran, captures and shares stories of NC Broadcast Legends. The inaugural series features interviews with:

  • Jim Goodmon, July 9
  • Don Curtis, July 16
  • Jim Heavner, July 23
  • Carl Venters Jr. , July 30
  • Robert Murray “Bob” Horner Jr., August 6
  • Wade Hargrove, August 13
  • Charlie Gaddy, August 20
  • Cullie Tarleton, August 27
  • Bob Harper, September 3
  • James Carson, September 10
  • Jim Babb, September 17
  • Bill Rollins, September 24
  • George Beasley, October 1

To read the press release in its entirety please click here.

Printer-Friendly Version