Annual Industry Awards

Every year NCAB honors the “best of the best” in the North Carolina broadcast industry with the Association’s most prestigious awards — the Hall of Fame Award, the Distinguished Service Award, and the Wade Hargrove Community Leadership Award.

Hall of Fame Award

The Hall of Fame Award was initiated in 1970. Consideration is given to North Carolina residents who have made significant contributions to broadcasting in the state, persons born in North Carolina who have made significant contributions to the broadcast industry outside the state and persons either born or residing outside of North Carolina who have made significant contributions to broadcasting in North Carolina. This award is designed to recognize and honor persons who have contributed to the broadcast industry in the past or over an extended period of time.

Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award was authorized in 1973 in memory of the late Earle Gluck, who was a pio-neer in broadcasting in North Carolina and played a significant role in the formation and development of NCAB. This award is given for outstanding service to or on behalf of the broadcast industry. This award is bestowed either annually or less frequently as the occasion warrants and is intended to recognize “current” contributions to broadcasting - as opposed to contributions made in the past or made over an extended period of time, which are recognized by the Hall of Fame Award.

Wade H. Hargrove Community Leadership Award

Unlike the NCAB Distinguished Service Award which recognizes service to the Association and to the broad-cast industry, the Wade Hargrove Community Leadership Award is intended to recognize current or past general managers, or other senior management of an NCAB member station who has made significant contributions toward the communities served by their radio or television stations, or to the general well being or improvement of the citizens of their local community, county or state. In keeping with the FCC mandate of “serving the public interest, convenience, and necessity,” these contributions may be made through public service campaigns, community events, service as an officer or elected official, or service on local boards and civic organizations. This Award was established in 2011 to honor Wade Hargrove who has dedicated his long career to protecting the rights of all broadcasters. Mr. Hargrove served as Executive Director and General Counsel to the North Carolina Association of Broadcasters for over 40 years.


Past Recipients of Hall Of Fame Award
David Brinkley (1970) Wally Ausley (1987) Woody Durham (2004)
H. K. Carpenter (1970) Edmund S. Long (1987) Vassie Balkcum (2004)
Grady Cole (1970) Clyde McLean (1987) Carl Lamm (2004)
George C. Cox (1970) Wallace Jorgenson (1988) Cullie Tarleton (2004)
Earle J. Gluck (1970) Doug Mayes (1988) Art Cooley (2005)
Charles H. Crutchfield (1970) J. Floyd Fletcher (1989) Rennie Corley (2005)
Billy Graham (1970) Robert Mendelson (1989) John Young (2005)
Andy Griffith (1970) Arthur Smith (1990) Henry Boggan (2006)
Kay Kyser (1970) Ray Wilkinson (1990) Ralph Epperson (2006)
Edward R. Murrow (1970) Ty Boyd (1991) Maurice “Maury” O’Dell (2006)
Richard A. Dunlea (1971) Frank Rice (1992) Roy Underhill (2006)
Ray Reeve (1971) James B. Childress (1992) Joseph McKinley Bryan (2007)
Harold Essex (1972) Cy Bahakel (1993) John L. Greene (2007)
Carl Goerch (1972) Sen. Jesse Helms (1993) Kenneth W. Lowe (2007)
Frank Jarman (1973) Jack Callaghan (1994) Lee W. Kinard, Jr. (2008)
E. Z. Jones (1974) Charlie Gaddy (1994) Bruce Wheeler (2009)
Robert M. Wallace (1974) Carl V. Venters, Jr. (1995) George Diab (2010)
A. J. Fletcher (1975) Kermit Edney (1996) Sandra Hughes (2010)
Richard H. Mason (1975) Ervin L. Hester, Sr. (1996) Pat Patterson (2010)
Doris B. Potter (1976) Loonis McGlohon (1996) Tom Campbell (2011)
Wesley H. Wallace (1976) Max Meeks (1996) Tom Howe (2012)
Charles B. Kuralt (1977) Jack Hankins (1997) Larry Stogner (2012)
Graham “Pappy” Poyner (1977) Bill Page (1997) Stuart W. Epperson (2013)
Robert R. Hilker (1978) George Beasley (1998) Robert Lacey (2013)
Gordon Gray (1979) Wade Hargrove (1998) Mark J. Prak (2014)
Harold Harrison (1980) Jimmy Capps, Jr. (1999) Tom Suiter (2014)
Earl Holder (1980) Hattie Leeper (1999) Henry Hinton (2015)
Jim Reid (1980) John W. “Jake” Dunlop (2000) Stuart Scott (2015)
W. R. Roberson, Jr. (1981) James A. Heavner (2000) Ann Seltman Smart (2016)
Hartwell Campbell (1982) Jackson F. Lee (2001) Dee Ray (2016)
Betty Feezor (1982) William R. Rollins (2001) Rick Ray (2016)
Fred Fletcher (1982) Tom Joyner (2002) Greg Fishel (2017)
Roy H. Park (1982) Jan Caddell (2002) John Isley (2017)
Jack Starnes (1983) Don Curtis (2002) Billy James (2017)
Frank U. Fletcher (1984) Rick Dees (2002) Carl Davis (2018)
Howard Cosell (1985) Earl Wynn (2002) Cameron Kent (2018)
Reginald Fessenden (1986) James G. Babb (2003) Bill Currie (2019)
William Friday (1986) James F. Goodmon (2003) Dick Harlow (2019)
Kate Smith (1986) Charlie Rose (2003) Lisa McKay (2019)


Past Recipients of Distinguished Service Award
Wade H. Hargrove (1973) James G. Babb, Jr. (1989) Rick Jackson (2005)
Jack Starnes (1974) Donald Curtis (1990) Ardie Gregory (2006)
Wesley H. Wallace (1975) Victor W. Dawson (1991) David Crabtree (2007)
Robert R. Hilker (1976) Alan MacIntyre (1991) Mark Prak (2008)
Charles H. Crutchfield (1977) Vassie Balkcum (1992) The Dawson Family (2009)
Sam J. Ervin, Jr. (1978) John Greene (1993) Henry Price (2010)
Jack P. Hankins (1979) Jan Caddell (1994) Dr. James Carson (2011)
Eugene H. Bohi (1980) Rennie Corley (1995) Senator Richard Burr (2012)
Wallace J. Jorgenson (1981) George Beasley (1996) J. Daniel Highsmith (2013)
Cullie M. Tarleton (1982) Tom Joyner (1997) Gary Weiss (2014)
Carl V. Venters, Jr. (1983) Beverly J. Holt (1998) Dick Harlow (2015)
James A. Heavner (1984) John Dawson (1999) Caroline Beasley (2016)
Robert L. Harper (1985) Mike Weeks (2000) Honorable G.K. Butterfield (2016)
William R. Rollins (1986) Henry Hinton (2001) Steven D. Hammel (2017)
James Goodmon (1987) Walker Morris (2002) Dean Susan King (2018)
Senator James Broyhill (1988) Tom Howe (2003) Chairman Ajit Pai (2019)
Tom Harrell (1988) Richard Cole (2004)  


Past Recipients of the Wade H. Hargove Community Leadership Award
Phil Zachary (2011) J. Daniel Highsmith (2012)
J. Ardell Sink (2013) Gig Hilton (2014)
Doug Hamilton (2015) Lee Armstrong (2016)
Dan Vallie (2017) Broadcasters of the Triad Region (2018)
North Carolina Emergency Management (2019)