Complete Story


Southern Ohio Synod SynodFest 2013 Summary--Additional Info Added as Requested


Southern Ohio Synod SynodFest 2013 Summary
June 6-8, 2013
Springfield, Ohio


Rostered Leaders Event

The annual Rostered Leaders Event, to provide continuing education opportunities to the Southern Ohio Synod’s 372 Rostered Leaders, was held at the Courtyard by Marriott hotel in Springfield, Ohio on June 6. Seventy-seven leaders gathered in the ballroom to learn more about how their Meyers-Briggs Personality Type affects how they lead and how they interact with their church council. Ms. Vicki McCreary from Midwest Ministry Development lead the one-day session.


Equipping the Faith Community to Support Mental Health Recovery Workshop

The Mental Wellness and Recovery Task Force hosted the ‘Equipping the Faith Community to Support Mental Health Recovery’ workshop in Shouvlin Hall on Friday, June 7 at 10 am. Approximately 80 people attended the workshop, which was lead by Ms. Renee Kopache, MS CPRP, Coordinator of Wellness Management for the Hamilton County Mental Health and Recovery Services Board in Cincinnati, Ohio. Members of the task force also took questions and shared their experiences with developing a mental wellness and recovery ministry in their congregations.

Attendees asked to have another workshop, like this one, at next year’s SynodFest. Be on the lookout for details as June 2014 draws near. If you are interested in learning more about the work of the Mental Wellness and Recovery Task Force, please contact Pr. Dona Johnson, at


Bishop Election

The Rev. Suzanne Darcy Dillahunt, Marysville, OH, was elected June 8 to a six-year term as bishop of the Southern Ohio Synod of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA). Dillahunt was elected on the fifth ballot during the synod assembly June 6-8 in Springfield, OH.

During the election process, The Rev. Dillahunt said, “I want us to work together as God’s people called to proclaim the good news of the risen Christ in word and action in this synod.” She also shared, “This is an exciting time to be the church and an awesome call to share our faith and proclaim the good news of the Gospel.”

Dillahunt will be installed on October 26. She was elected to the Office of Bishop on the fifth ballot with 226 votes to 217 votes for the Rev. Dr. James Wilson, pastor of Lord of Life Lutheran Church, Worthington, OH.

Dillahunt has served for the past 16 years as assistant to the bishop of the ELCA Southern Ohio Synod. Prior to becoming assistant to the bishop, Rev. Dillahunt served as pastor at Grace Lutheran Church, Eaton, OH; Associate pastor at Peace Lutheran Church, Gahanna, OH and pastor at Faith in Christ Lutheran Church, Springfield, OH.

She earned a degree in Political Science and Sociology at the University of Arizona and completed her Master of Divinity degree at Trinity Lutheran Seminary, Columbus, OH in 1986.

Dillahunt is married to The Rev. Brian Dillahunt, who is pastor of First English Lutheran Church in Lancaster, OH. They have one son, Nathaniel, who is a student at Wittenberg University.


General Election Results

Synod Council, Central Ohio Lay Male: James Renshaw

Synod Council, Scioto Conference Lay Female: Carol Swank

Synod Council, At Large Lay Female: Jodi Keith

Synod Council, At Large Lay Male: Bennett Whitaker

Synod Council, Central Ohio Clergy: Ralph Wolfe

Synod Council, Muskingum Conference Lay Male: Steve Schnittke

Synod Council, Lutheran Men in Mission: Ronald Moder

Committee on Discipline,Cincinnati Conference Clergy: Josh Miller

Committee on Discipline, Central Ohio Conference Clergy: Bob Abrams

Committee on Discipline, Dayton Conference Clergy: Charlie Woodward

Committee on Discipline, Northwest Conference Clergy: Craig Fourman

Committee on Discipline, Muskingum Conference Clergy: Katie Kerrigan

Committee on Discipline, Scioto Conference: Janet Hatch

Committee on Discipline, Cincinnati Conference Lay Female: Anne Miller

Committee on Discipline, Northwest Conference Lay Female: Sallie Anderson

Committee on Discipline, Muskingum Conference Lay Female: Margene Brown

Committee on Discipline, Central Ohio Conference Lay Male: Frank Carter

Committee on Discipline, Dayton Conference Lay Male: Jerry Haun

Committee on Discipline, Scioto Conference Lay Male: Bill Baer

Consultation Committee, Cincinnati Conference Clergy: Fred Cook

Consultation Committee, Central Ohio Conference Clergy: Chuck Peterson

Consultation Committee, Dayton Conference Clergy: Steve Kimpel

Consultation Committee, Northwest Conference Clergy: Cheryl Siegenthaler

Consultation Committee, Muskingum Conference Clergy: Mark Combs

Consultation Committee, Central Ohio Conference Lay Female: Donna Bowman

Consultation Committee, Dayton Conference Lay Female: Lynn Spatz

Consultation Committee, Scioto Conference Lay Female: Beth Hedges

Consultation Committee, Cincinnati Conference Lay Male: Steve Hoffsis

Consultation Committee, Northwest Conference Lay Male: Dave Tipton

Consultation Committee, Muskingum Conference Lay Male: Keith Hanson


Other Voting Results:

2014 Fiscal Proposal: Adopted by the assembly as submitted

2014 Compensation Guidelines: Adopted by the assembly as submitted

Resolutions: Assembly approved referring all six resolutions submitted to the Synod Council


Synod-Wide Worship

Our annual Synod-wide Worship was held on Friday, June 7 in Weaver Chapel on the Wittenberg University campus. Bishop Callon Holloway, Jr. preached to a packed sanctuary for what would be his last synod-wide worship as Bishop. We thank the Worship Committee and everyone who attended the worship service for making this event a memorable one.


Farewell Dinner for Bishop Holloway

Friday, June 7 after the Synod-wide Worship Service, over 400 people from our synod, the ELCA and our ecumenical partners and organizations, joined together to wish Bishop Callon Holloway, Jr. farewell as he prepares to leave the Office of Bishop in August. Many guest speakers shared stories of how Bishop Holloway positively impacted their lives, as well as stories of fun times shared and prayers for God’s blessing on his ministry. During the dinner, Mrs. Barbara Klatt, Vice President of the Southern Ohio Synod Council, presented Bishop Holloway with a certificate, giving him the official title of ‘Bishop Emeritus’ of the Southern Ohio Synod. Bishop Holloway promised to be around the synod continuing his work to be and make disciples that marked his three terms as Bishop.

Photos taken of SynodFest 2013 may be viewed and downloaded from the Southern Ohio Synod Facebook page, Southern Ohio Synod ELCA.