Complete Story


Four of seven to participate in question/answer session in election for ELCA presiding bishop

From ELCA Blog

Three of the seven nominees for ELCA presiding bishop have shared via written correspondence that they will not participate in this morning’s question and answer session as part of the election process. They are the Rev. David Lose, a theologian and professor at Luther Seminary, St. Paul, Minn.; the Rev. Barbara Lundblad, professor at Union Theological Seminary, New York; and the Rev. Peter Marty, St. Paul Lutheran Church, Davenport, Iowa.

ELCA Presiding Bishop Mark Hanson, the Rev. Jessica Crist, the Rev. Ann Svennungsen and the Rev. Elizabeth Eaton will be participating in the question and answer. Crist is bishop of the ELCA Montana Synod and chair of the ELCA Conference of Bishops; Svennungsen is bishop of the ELCA Minneapolis Area Synod and Eaton is bishop of the ELCA Northeastern Ohio Synod.