“Emergency Care for America's Heroes”


>> Get Involved -- Join a Committee Today! <<


Committee membership gives an opportunity to become involved in the leadership of GSACEP and help shape our chapter’s future. Committee membership is open to both attending and resident physicians. Chapter committee membership is excellent experience to use as a stepping stone to national ACEP committee membership. Most committee business is conducted via email or over conference calls a few times a year.

Our membership committee is focused on recruiting and retaining members for GSACEP. Members develop recruiting materials, coordinate residency visits, and contact former and potential members.

Chair: Laura Tilley, MD



The newsletter committee maintains the GSACEP website and focuses on keeping members in touch. Social media networking is managed through Facebook and Twitter. New directions include providing podcasts of GSS lectures to all members and seeking new ways to communicate. The EPIC newsletter is also edited by communications committee members.

Chair: Toni Helbling, MD


Technology & Website

Chair: Torree McGowan, MD, FACEP



The awards committee gathers nominations and coordinates selection of our annual GSACEP award winners.

Chair: J. Dave Barry, MD, FACEP



This committee coordinates the annual GSACEP Resident Research Grant and the Research Forum at Government Services Symposium.

Chair: Michael April, MD


History of Military Emergency Medicine Project

The HOMEM Committee is collating the history of the development of emergency medicine in the military.  Please see The History Project page for details on the current activities of this committee.

Chair: Torree McGowan, MD, FACEP


Nominating Committee

The nominating committee solicits applicants for office, reviews, and recommends candidates to Board

Chair: Marco Coppola, DO, FACEP & Linda Lawrence, MD, FACEP


Transition Committee

The transition committee has created a comprehensive guide for options for careers options as members transition out of the military.

Chairs: Julio Lairet, DO, FACEP; J Dave Barry MD, FACEP


EMRA/GSACEP Military Medical Student Mentoring

Chair: Gillian Schmitz, MD, FACEP