Ohio Fire Chief Credentialing Program

Credentialing Logo The Ohio Fire Chiefs’ Association (OFCA) and the Ohio Fire & Emergency Services Foundation (OF&ESF) have identified the need to further enhance the professionalism of chief fire officers throughout the state of Ohio by the establishment of a uniform credentialing program. The goal of the program is to ensure a strong degree of accountability. The Credentialing Program sets forth the goals needed for chief fire officers to establish a higher degree of professionalism so that fire chiefs may be better prepared to serve their department, their community, and other organizations. The goal is to promote the professional development of the chief fire officer in Ohio and to assist these chiefs in their daily operations, management, and leadership.

Credentialed participants will be required to renew their credentials every three years.

Through this program, the OFCA has attempted to establish occupational education, fire service related training, and experience criteria relevant to the position of fire chief. This process provides an equal opportunity for the volunteer, paid-on-call, or full-time applicant to meet the minimum criteria for achieving the Ohio Fire Chief credential.

At this time, the chief fire officer designation is open to officers serving at the Battalion Chief level or above. Candidates are required to provide an organizational chart verifying their position within the department.

By participation in this program, an applicant agrees to abide by a Mission Statement and Code of Professional Conduct. The credentialing process will be solely administered by The Ohio Fire Chiefs’ Association Credentialing Committee.

Ohio Fire Chief Credentialing Application

Sample News Release for OFC Credentialing Program

 Ohio Fire Chiefs' Association Credentialed Chiefs
Assistant Chief Steve Agenbroad, OFC
  Clearcreek Fire District
      Chief Rick Anderson, OFE, OFC   Ashland Fire Division
      Battalion Chief Thomas B. Barnett, OFC   City of Trotwood Fire & Rescue
      Assistant Chief William Anderson, OFC   Euclid Fire Department
      Assistant Chief Tim Bowling, OFC   Defiance Fire Department
      Chief Thomas Burgasser, OFC   Massillon Fire Department
      Chief John Donahue, OFC   Delaware Fire Department
      Deputy Chief Kevin Edmond, OFC   Mentor Fire Department
      Chief John Frazier, OFC   Russell Fire Department
      Deputy Chief Michael Froelich, OFC    Sylvania Fire-EMS Department
      Assistant Chief Mark Fyffe, MPA, OFE, OFC   Union Township Fire Department
      Chief Brent Gates, OFC    New Concord Fire Department
      Assistant Chief Ray Green, OFC   Canal Fulton Fire Department
      Chief Kevin Hardwick, OFE, OFC   Glendale Fire Department
      Chief Vincent Harris, OFE, OFC   Greentown Fire Department, Inc.
      Chief John E. Hickey, OFE, OFC   Champion Township Fire Department
      Chief William Houk, OFE, OFC   Jefferson Township Fire Department
      Chief Rob Hursong, OFE, OFC   Harrison Fire Department
      Chief Jeff Hussey, OFE, OFC   Granville Township Fire Department
      Assistant Chief Justin Joy, OFE, OFC      Greentown Fire Department
      Chief Steve Kelly, OFE, OFC   Miami Township Fire/EMS
      Assistant Chief Chad Kennedy, OFC   Piqua Fire Department
      Chief Joseph Kitchen, OFC   Bath Township Fire Department
      Chief Jeff Klein, OFE, OFC    Perrysburg Fire Division
      Chief Mark Kozak, MPA, OFC    Ravenna Township Fire Department
      Chief Dennis Lewis, OFE, OFC    Bazetta Fire Department
      Battalion Chief Robert Lloyd, OFC   Eastlake Fire Department
      Assistant Chief Jeff Lykins, OFC   Dayton Fire Department
      Chief Christopher Lyons, OFC   City of Bay Village Division of Fire
      Chief Mark Martin, OFC     Perry Township Fire Department
      Chief Scott Massie, OFC   JSP Joint Fire District
      Chief Daryl McNutt, OFC   Whitehouse Fire Department
      Chief Matt Noble, OFC    Orange Township Fire Department
      Assistant Chief Brian Peterman, OFC   Wooster Township Fire Department
      Asst. Chief Daniel Podlogar, OFE, OFC   Lawrence Township Fire Department
      Assistant Chief Rick Prinz, OFE, OFC   West Chester Township Fire Department
      Deputy Chief of Operations Michael Ramm, OFE, OFC         Sylvania Township Fire Department
      Chief Robert Reinholz, OFC   Streetsboro Fire Department
      Chief Rudy Ruiz, MBA, EFO, FO, OFC      Bedford Township Fire Department
      Chief Matthew Sabo, OFC   Concord Township Fire Department
      Chief Edward Schepp, EFO, OFC   North Olmsted Fire Department
      Assistant Chief Matt Schumann, OFE, OFC   Fairfield Township Fire Department
      Chief William Shaw, EFO, OFC   Solon Fire Department
      Chief Chris Smith, OFC   Canton Township Fire Department
      Chief George Snyder, BCJ, OFC   Burghill Vernon Fire Department
      Assistant Chief Thomas G. Spape, OFE, OFC   Bedford Heights Fire Department
      Deputy Chief Ron Terriaco, OFE, OFC   Concord Township Fire Department
      Deputy Chief Charles Twigg, OFE, OFC   Akron Fire Department
      Assistant Chief Michael Vatty, OFC   Munson Fire Department
      Chief Kevin Veletean, OFC   Tiffin Fire Department
      Chief Patrick Wambo, OFE, MPA, OFC   Waterville Fire Department
      Battalion Chief Douglas Wehmeyer, OFC   Deerfield Township Fire Department
      Chief Porter Welch, J.D., OFE, OFC   Scioto Township Fire Department
      Chief Jonathan Westendorf, OFC     City of Franklin Division of Fire
      Chief Bill Wilkins, OFC   Defiance Fire Department
      Chief Jerry Winkler, EFO, OFC   Seville-Guilford Fire & Rescue
      Assistant Chief William Winter, OFE, OFC   Lafayette Township Fire Department
      Chief Paul Wright, OFC      Montgomery Fire Department
      Chief Jeffery Young, OFE, OFC   Sheffield Village Fire Department