OFCA Award Program

Distinguished Service Award Winners

The Distinguished Service Award is an honor given to an individual or group that has performed outstanding services to the Association or to the fire service in general.

2018 Chief Larry Flowers, Retired
Deputy Chief Ron Terriaco, OFE, OFC
1999 Joseph C. Stewart, VFIS of Ohio
Chief Marion "Punk" Zwiebel, Retired
2017 Chief W. Parker Brown, Retired
The Dominion Foundation

Chief Glenn E. Alexander, Retired
Ass't. Chief Robert J. Schwanzl, Retired
2016 Battalion Chief C. Thomas Beatty,  Retired  1997 Chief Robert Marihugh
Chief Raymond Walendzak
2015 Chief Mark Martin
Chief James Whitworth, Retired
1996 Chief Ronald Hutchings, Retired
Chief Richard Morrison, Retired
2014 Chief Tom Stewart, Retired
William F. Vedra, Jr.
1995 Chief Charles Turner, Retired
Chief William Pickford
2013 Chief James B. Steele, Retired 1994 Chief William Lee, Retired
2012 The Dominion Foundation 1993 Chief Ronald Specht, Retired
2011 Chief Trish Brooks
Chief Ted Heck
1992 Chief Marvin Olney, Retired
2010 Chief James M. Steele 1991 Schnell-Westfall American Post 1984
Chief C.H. O'Brien, Retired
2009 Chief William W. Wilkins 1989 Chief Paul W. Martin, Jr., Retired
2008 Chief John Bernans, Jr.
Chief Scott A. Skeldon
1988 Bluecoats of Summit County
Chief Thomas Grile, Retired
Chief Charles Wilson, Retired
2007 Chief Paul Robison, Retired
Legislative Agent Bill Selsam
1987 Chief Robert Counts, Retired
Chief Wilbur Bills, Retired
2006 Chief R. Stanley Crosley
Chief Russell Rife

Chief Jeff Duber, Retired
Chief C.H. O'Brien, Retired
2005 Chief Kenn Taylor 1983 Chief Frank Trempe, Retired
Chief Charles Getz, Retired
2004 Chief Stephen Ashbrock 1982 Box 27 Associates of Springfield Fire Dept.
2003 Chief Mark Burgess 1981 100 Club of Cincinnati
2002 Chief George Brown
Chief Tom Wallace
1980 Bluecoats, Inc. of Summit County
Chief W.H. Cheesman, Retired
2001 Chief Dale Duermit
Chief John Preuer, Retired
1979 Cincinnati Shrine Burn Center
2000 Capt. Robert B. Trieber, Retired
Chief Robert J. Weitzel, Retired
1978 Chief Wilber Bills, Retired


OFCA Award of Valor

The Ohio Fire Chiefs' Association Award of Valor may be presented to anyone who performs an outstanding act of heroism. Any member who has a nominee for this award shall submit a nomination, in writing, to the Secretary-Treasurer. The Board of Directors shall decide if the proposal is within the intended purpose of the award and accept or reject the proposal. The type of award presented and the presentation of the award shall be determined by the Board of Directors.