Complete Story


2016 V. Sagar Sethi, MD Mental Health Research Award

2016 V. Sagar Sethi, M.D. Mental Health Research Award

The Psychiatric Foundation of North Carolina invites you to submit nominations for the 2016 V. Sagar Sethi, M.D. Mental Health Research Award. This national award seeks to honor a scientist for significant contributions to basic research in the neurosciences, psychology, or pharmacology at a molecular, cellular or behavioral level.

Criteria include: Significant contribution to basic research; research has had a significant impact or is highly likely to have a significant impact on clinical psychiatric care; and the nominee is a physician or Ph.D. who is conducting active research in the United States. Self-nominations are not accepted, although the nominee can assist in providing information.

To nominate a candidate for the 2016 Sethi Award, please send the nominee’s name, complete mailing address, email address and CV, along with a one-page letter of nomination by January 15, 2016. Send nominations by email to; fax: 919-851-0044; or mail: Psychiatric Foundation of North Carolina, Attn: Sethi Award Selection Committee, 4917 Waters Edge Drive, Suite 250, Raleigh, NC 27699.

The winning candidate will receive $7,000 and travel support to attend and present a lecture during the NC Psychiatric Association’s Annual Meeting & Scientific Session, held in Asheville, NC, September 8-11, 2016.

About the Award:

While only in its fifth year, the V. Sagar Sethi, M.D. Mental Health Research Award has already seen four outstanding researchers honored: Patrick Sullivan, M.D. from the University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill, Charles Nemeroff, M.D., Ph.D. from the University of Miami, Jeffrey Conn, Ph.D. from Vanderbilt University, and Nora Volkow, M.D. from the National Institute on Drug Abuse. The award was established in 2011 through an endowment from the late Dr. Sethi, a long-time psychiatrist in Charlotte, NC and member of the North Carolina and American Psychiatric Associations.

We encourage your research staff to identify and nominate a qualified candidate for this prestigious award by the January 15, 2016 submission deadline. For more information visit or contact the Foundation’s staff at or 919-859-3370. 

Printer-Friendly Version