Fellows & Distinguished Fellows

Why Become an APA Fellow?

Being a Fellow is an honorary designation that was created by the APA Membership Committee and Board of Trustees to recognize early career members who have demonstrated allegiance to their profession and commitment to the on-going work of the Association.

Most members who pursue Fellow status perceive it as one of the first steps to enhancement of their professional credentials. Fellows are recognized by their colleagues in the Association as a member of a very select group.

Fellows are permitted to use the FAPA designation on all their professional documentation.

Criteria and Recognition for Fellows

  • Five consecutive years as an APA General Member
  • ABPN, RCPS, or AOA certification
  • Three letters of recommendation from APA Fellows or Distinguished Fellows
  • Concurrence by the OPPA
  • APA Fellowship Information and Application

Members who meet criteria of Fellows will be notified by the APA that they are eligible to apply for the category of Fellow of the APA. All newly appointed Fellows are publicly recognized at the Convocation of Fellows and Distinguished Fellows, which is held every year during the APA's Annual Meeting. In addition, Fellows receive a lapel pin as a symbol of their status and an embossed Fellow certificate to display with pride in their office.

Why Become an APA Distinguished Fellow?

Distinguished Fellowship is a national honor awarded by the American Psychiatric Association to psychiatrists who have made and continue to make significant contributions to their profession and the community. Excellence, not mere competence, is the hallmark of the potential Distinguished Fellow.

The APA has provided a list of those members who meet the first criteria of eight consecutive years as a General Member or Fellow of APA.

Guidelines for Election to Distinguished Fellowship

Specify that the General Member or Fellow should be an outstanding psychiatrist who has made significant contributions in at least five of the areas listed below:

  1. Certification by the ABPN, RCPS, AOA or equivalent certifying body;
  2. Involvement in work of the APA, the District Branch (OPPA), and the Chapter;
  3. Involvement in other components and activities of the APA;
  4. Involvement in other medical and professional organizations;
  5. Participation in non-compensated mental health and medical activities of social significance;
  6. Participation in non-medical, non-income-producing community activities;
  7. Clinical contributions;
  8. Administrative contributions;
  9. Teaching contributions; and
  10. Scientific and scholarly publications.

Nominations for Distinguished Fellow are made by local Chapters of the OPPA. Because each Chapter maintains its own calendar of meetings, events, etc., eligible  members should contact their local OPPA chapter to determine the deadline for submitting all documentation (original nomination form, original letters of support) to that Chapter. Contact the OPPA office if you do not have contact information for your local chapter.

Chapters are required to submit nominations, which include originals of nomination forms, originals of letters of support, along with a Chapter statement of endorsement to the OPPA no later than April 23, 2012.

At least three letters of support must be from current Distinguished Fellows or Distinguished Life Fellows of the APA. However, letters from other individuals (other members or non-psychiatrists) are strongly encouraged. Letters should amplify and delineate the quality of each activity reported on the nomination form. Each person asked to comment on a nominee should have a copy of the Guidelines for Election to Distinguished Fellowship.

Nominations must be submitted on the Nomination Form provided. All information should be documented within the respective sections (i.e., expand the form to accommodate written information). Curriculum vitae in lieu of, or as supplements to, completed nomination forms are not acceptable.

2019 Honorees

Distinguished Fellows

Latifat Osinowo, MD
Thomas Osinowo,MD
Mackenzie Varkula, DO


Jeffrey Guina, MD
Geeta Ilipilla, MD
Chandani Lewis, MD