Complete Story

CropLife America Recognizes Award Winners at 2022 Annual Meeting

Innovation within agriculture remains one of the world’s greatest untold stories and CropLife America’s (CLA) 2022 Annual Meeting shined a spotlight on the continuous improvement the pesticide industry is providing to address the global challenges of hunger and climate change. Held September 25 – 28 in San Antonio, Texas, CLA’s members and allies gathered to celebrate the industry’s progress and chart a new path for enhancing food productivity, regulatory efficiency, and on-farm sustainability.

A highlight of the Annual Meeting is the recognition of members who have shown exemplary drive and leadership. Whether on a specific issue or managing the work of an entire committee, CLA is thankful for members’ time and hard work throughout this past year. Members and partners recognized by CLA this year include:

The Pillar Award recognizes an individual or group who has shown dedicated service to the pesticide industry and CLA by working diligently on current and emerging issues. Pillar Award winners for 2022 are: Jeff Blackwood (BASF Corporation); Dr. Frank Wong (Bayer); and Paul Whatling (FMC Corporation).

The Chairman’s Award honors individuals within the CLA staff for their exceptional service to member companies, the industry, and the organization. This year’s winners are Dr. Mano Basu (managing director, science policy) and Brian Glenn (government relations manager).

The Urbanowski Grassroots Award honors the outstanding grassroots contributions made by an individual or organization at the local, state, or federal level. CLA was thrilled to recognize Daryn McBeth (Lathrop GPM LLP).

The Jay Vroom Agriculture Ambassador Award honors a member or an allied organization to CLA who has made a major contribution to public education about pesticides and their contribution to a safe, affordable, and sustainable food supply. This year, CLA recognized Chip Shilling (BASF Corporation) and Stephanie Darnell (BASF Corporation).

The State Leadership Award honors outstanding leadership in state legislative issues and the strengthening of the reputation and advancement of crop protection. CLA was pleased to recognize Commissioner of Agriculture Gary W. Black (Georgia Department of Agriculture) and Secretary Karen Ross (California Department of Food and Agriculture).

CLA presented the Rising Star Award to recognize emerging leaders in the agricultural industry whose record reflects exceptional growth in leadership and responsibility. Congratulations to Stephanie Binns (BASF Corporation) and Darryl Blakey (FMC Corporation) on this well-deserved honor!

The Lea S. Hitchner Award honors one individual whose outstanding contributions to the industry and association activities epitomize the essence of the first CLA President, Lea S. Hitchner. This year, the award was presented to Susanne Wasson (formerly with Corteva Agriscience). Susanne’s work within the pesticide industry, Corteva, and CropLife America provided needed leadership in confronting industry challenges and seizing opportunities.

CLA is also pleased to welcome four new member companies: Corbet Scientific, Precision Laboratories, Ramboll, and Sidley Austin LLP.

“We’re constantly amazed and always grateful for the invaluable work of our members. Their leadership, expertise, and candor ensure we work on the right issues on behalf of our members and our customers,” stated Chris Novak, president and CEO of CLA. “It is our customers—the American farmer—who are at the center of everything that we do. Our work enables farmers to grow more using fewer resources, a global challenge that is more real than ever before in the face of conflicts and natural disasters. The pesticide industry stands ready to answer the challenge of growing more food within an ever-changing climate.”

Printer-Friendly Version